It's About Time I FES up!


Advertisement
Morocco's flag
Africa » Morocco » Fès-Boulemane » Fes
September 17th 2011
Published: September 17th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Wow! Time flies when you're looking for your lost baggage and an ATM that will finally give you some dirhams. It all worked out. I made it safe and sound and eventually got my bag (believe it or not) the next morning. And it wasn't even the Moroccan end that caused the delay but those crazy Italians!!!

The group I'm travelling with is small; we are four people. Me and 3 other Australians, plus the tour leader Miloud which translates to my lord. So each time I say his name I feel like bowing to him.

My journey has already taken me to 4 cities Casablanca, Rabat, Meknes and Fes and including Volubilis an ancient Roman city.

The food is phenomenal. I even had a camel burger! I will never look at a camel the same way. It was delicious!

Highlights:

In RABAT, I strolled through the white Kasbah then in the late afternoon I took a train to Meknes.

The city of MEKNES was first settled by the Berber tribe of the Meknassis in the 10th century. During the reign of Moulay Ismail which began in 1672, Meknes began to rise to the rank of Imperial city. The French then made the city their military headquarters in 1912. Today Meknes is Morocco's 5th largest city. It is a dynamic economic centre renowned for its olives, mint tea and wine which are considered the best in Morocco.

FES more than any other town is immersed with the history of Morocco. The most ancient of Imperial Capitals and the most complete medieval city of the Arab world. It is the symbolic heart of Morocco. It was founded shortly after the the
Arabs swept through North Africa and Spain and quickly became the country's religious and cultural centre. It is considered the centre of Islamic orthodoxy in Morocco.


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

Maximus Fallis in VolubilisMaximus Fallis in Volubilis
Maximus Fallis in Volubilis

This way to Volubilis
Yes! It's a camel head.Yes! It's a camel head.
Yes! It's a camel head.

I don't think I ate this part.
OR culinary dish?OR culinary dish?
OR culinary dish?

I ate all of it!
Yes! It's a camel head.Yes! It's a camel head.
Yes! It's a camel head.

I don't think I ate this part.
OR culinary dish?OR culinary dish?
OR culinary dish?

I ate all of it!


18th September 2011

bella! so glad you made it and that your bags finally arrived...my hotmail is blocked at the moment so I found another way into the site to find your blog...so exciting and you look marvellous...are you smelling the spices of this wonderful country! so happy for you, you look relaxed and excited about the journey ahead!!!
22nd September 2011

Wheeey!
Great Pics. Sounds like your having a good time. Laura and Dad say hi. Riccardo also says hi. He wants you to send him your Blog link again. Ciao for now...safe travels!
27th September 2011

Ciao Bella!
The food looks very inviting. The camel head, not so much. And I would not have thought of wine in Morocco. Did you sip? I love the picture of you in front of those splendid doors. Hope your adventures continue.
2nd October 2011

It's about time I Fes up!
Mina, so much to say First Happy Belated Birthday! We've been swamped. Joe had a heart attack last week and had surgery on Sept 26th. For a few days I reallyt thought my trip to Turkey was jeopardized. Luckily it was a mild attack and no damage was done to his heart. He had angioplasty surgery where the inserted a stent to keep the artery open. Laura came from Montreal and Paul was back from his trip so it was nice to be together. Joe is back home, resting. Since he can't drive for the the next 2 weeks I'm being the chauffeur. All is good. Glad you seemed to be having a fantastic time can't hardly wait to join you. Your pictures are fantastic. Big hugs and kisses France
4th October 2011
OR culinary dish?

It looks yummy!!!
4th October 2011

Mina, ton voyage semble magnifique...
je pense souvent à toi car je suis entrain de lire "the salted road" and it's magic. Toutes les histoires racontées au travers du Sahara, histoires de princesses perdue dans le Sahara avec des pouvoirs de sorcières... j'ai du mal à lâcher le livre... Well I envie you very much, but I'm soo happy for you. xoxo Agnès

Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0592s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb