A long bus ride to Fes


Advertisement
Morocco's flag
Africa » Morocco » Fès-Boulemane » Fes
October 19th 2010
Published: October 21st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Last night was the first time in a long time that I was pleased that I was with fellow travelers and not alone. I spent the last 3 days with two great guys Dave and Grant. They helped me decide to continue with Dave to a city called Fes rather than on my own to another city to couchsurf again. So in a last minute decision I packed my bag and prepared for an "over night" bus.


There was 6 of us form the hostel taking this same bus. With bus tickets already purchased earlier, we heaved on our backpacks and made the walk to the bus station with plenty of time to spare for the 8.30pm bus. "Fes? Fes?" says one of the many Moroccan men as we approach the bus station. "Your bus not coming. Bus at 10.30pm now." The next two hours were so confusing. Would the later bus come at all? Where was our bus? What time would we arrive in Fes? We think there was some dodgy business going on with our tickets being re-sold but what could we do about it?


We finally got on the bus which every seat was taken. Luckily the people on the bus did a shuffle around so we could sit together. I settled into my seat beside Dave and we listened to The Rolling Stones Magazine Top 500 Songs of All Time on my ipod. I opted to put my passport in Dave's bag because mine doesn't have a zip and all night I had one eye open for our belongings. The other four seemed to find a comfy position and get some sleep but we didn't get more than about 30 minutes sleep all night.


During the journey the bus stopped at about 6 towns, including once at 2am when some people got off the bus for some sit-down fast food!! We stopped at Casablanca where were told we wouldn't stop. We stopped at Rabat where were instructed to change buses. Finally at 12.30pm the next day we arrived in our destination Fes!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.208s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0347s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb