Fez


Advertisement
Morocco's flag
Africa » Morocco » Fès-Boulemane » Fes
April 23rd 2008
Published: April 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

I have made the attempt but Fez - renowned as an historical and cultural center of Morocco - insists on keeping her charms hidden. I have sat in cafes among men in the square by Bad Bou Jeloud - the seat of the action, according to my guidebook - drinking overpriced mint tea and banana milkshakes, watching tour groups arrive and depart. I have trudged up and down the streets of the medina, attempting to get lost and failing, trying heartily to find something worth buying that is nicer or cheaper than what's available in Marrkakesh or Essaouria. I have viewed the mosques and merdersas, visited the museums and the tanneries. I have bought sheep's cheese and melons and almond paste filled cookies and bread. I have been awoken by the 4 am call to prayer in my hotel room, complete with toilet and windows. I have eaten ice cream in the sun and steamed myself in the local hammam. All to no avail. And yet I can't place the blame on Fez; surely it is my own fault , and if I were to do this trip again I would have traveled from North to South and saved Marrakech for last, for really, what could have surpassed it?

Tomorrow I leave by train for Tangier, and the next day by ferry for Spain. I will have one day in Madrid before I take the night train to Paris. My time here draws short and my birthday draws near. I will write again from Europe. A toute a l'heure.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Bab Bou JeloudBab Bou Jeloud
Bab Bou Jeloud

The seat of the little action there is. Sweetie, are you looking for me? Sweetie? Hello?
Pension BathaPension Batha
Pension Batha

My greatly overpriced hotel, with pleasant staff and the worst breakfast I have ever inadvertantly paid for. Old bread, bad coffee, and fuzz and fingerprints in my butter? No thanks.


24th April 2008

Yeah, and I need to know what you want for your birthday so I can send it to you when you get back!! :) I'm sorry you're not having a great time, but I know when you will be having a great time... In Paris! Can't wait, as always, to hear more!
2nd May 2008

marrakech
makes me feel better that it is the last stop on my upcoming trip! :)

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0513s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb