the niger starts


Advertisement
Mali's flag
Africa » Mali » Centre » Ségou
August 6th 2008
Published: August 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

first off, let me tell you that my eye hasnt healed yet. if you know me you will know how I love to complain, so I needed to say it.

whenever the eye gets better some windy day of dirty transport fucks it up again. anyway, I pretty much have gotten used to looking like a pirate and not having stereoscopic vision, furthermore, when I open both eyes I kinda have vertigos. so much for the depth; never liked that 3rd dimension.

now segou, it is a lovely little city by the niger river, one of whose main chatrms is still keeping some town look as opposed to the busy and guides-filled mopti. still, theres not much to do in a little town more than enjoying the bel far niente, and so to days passed in segou, enjoying spectactular sunsets. though not in the dramatic slow setting of the sun to which we are used to, but rather in the abtrupt fading of blues to oranges to reds and greys, finally black, that could be seen between rooftops trees, black shaved heads and indented decorated curly hairs all around the city.

something similar happened in saint louis, and I have seen pictures of it in bamako too. it is quite a striking phenon apparently fairly common over here of which I have no pictures, too bad. well whatever, here aer some pictures of the river to make up for it


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

traditional malian architecturetraditional malian architecture
traditional malian architecture

stop your fantasies, most of the city doesnt look like this. see the post before
art galleryart gallery
art gallery

interior of the segou youth art gallery


Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0833s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb