Malawi Wowie!


Advertisement
Malawi's flag
Africa » Malawi » Lake Malawi
September 6th 2008
Published: September 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Unfortunately my Africa updates will start to get shorter and shorter... I'm halfway through my Australia trip and Africa is starting tofeel like a distant dream!

After South Luangwa we crossed the border into Malawi (border crossings... very interesting!!).
I don't have very much to say about Malawi... it was a very beautiful country, the people seemed poorer than Zambia, the begging was much more in your face and the beer was REALLY cheap... $0.50!!! We spent 3 days at Senga Bay on the shore of Lake Malawi. We managed to get a cottage to share amongts the group soit was a very relaxing time. Katie and Chris baked us a pie, Silvan and Chris got into a whipped cream fight, we played cards and did lots of relaxing. Italmost felt like a break from the trip.

Some of you will remember my dillema with Lake Malawi... do I swim and chance contracting bilharzia (worms that will swim around in my blood hatching eggs and eventually attacking my liver) or do I just enjoy the experience? Those of you who know me well can probably guess that I went swimming. The water was beautiful and the days were so hot... howcould I resist.

Our next stop in Malawi was Mt Mulanje, half the group hiked up the Mountain and the other half to the waterfall... I was in the waterfall group, when the other half of the group joinedus we jumped into the FREEZING water and swam to the waterfall as we tried to catch our breaths. When we got back to the campsite we decided to celebrate - no need for a reason, we're on vacation! We broke out the Malawi Wowie (Malawi vodka in little sachets - a shot each, cost about $5!!!) and hit the ping pong table. Have you ever played extreme ping pong - not sure if itreally exists or if we invented it but it was a whole lot offun. Imagine 5 people playing ping pong with only 2 rackets.... 😊

The evening ended with a splash- that would be me being thrown into the pool. Needless to say we spent the next day recovering on our drive into Mozambique



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



26th September 2008

fight
Who got to clean up the whipped cream? Am I a mom or what?!?!! Did you see Madonna?
28th September 2008

Clean up
We cleaned it up... suckers that we are!! The boys went to the lake to wash off... No Madonna sightings... but... I who knows... I might have more packed in my luggage than just clothes!!! ;)

Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 50; dbt: 0.055s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb