Rum in my Tum TUM


Advertisement
Madagascar's flag
Africa » Madagascar » Moramanga
December 4th 2008
Published: December 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hey all first mate Colin here! I was demoted from Commander after a wild and crazy night in Morondava on my bday. It turns out that all the ladies that were hanging from me at the club had a price tag, and thankfully for Ari s bulldog ways she shooed them away before too much damage was done. But for my poor behavior I was demoted, and Ari found some old French ex patriot that she says she loves and will be moving to the south of Madagascar to give back rubs to Jacque, while he paints the sunset while puffing his cigar and choking down shots of Pastis. She also must administer his pills that he must take three times a day to ward off his high blood pressure.

Fortunately none is true; the birthday turned out to be very not so exciting. We had a long pirogue ride back to Morondava in the early morning but then were stuck there for the day. We found some ice cream and some really greasy pizza to celebrate. After our bellies were stuffed we went to the Avenue of Baobabs which if you ever see a picture of Madagascar it is probably of this 200M stretch of massive Baobab trees. I wasnt to excited to go visit because to me it is just a huge tourist trap. It is like California cutting down all of the redwoods and leaving just a few for the tourists to look at. Then taking thousands of pictures of them and saying come visit the land of redwoods. Sense it was so close to Morondava and we had nothing else to do we made the trip out. It was very impressive the size of the trees and it made for lovely pictures. There were still lots of kids grabbing at you and asking for money just for taking pictures. They were even taking Chameleons from trees and prancing around with them trying to coax tourists into paying to look at them. We headed back to town were we would have the birthday dinner. We got dinner at a place called Oasis, it is a Rasta hotel who s owner is self proclaimed as Jean La Rasta. Bob Marley sirongs hang in every doorway and huge mats of dredlocks cover the heads of all the employees. And of course there are a couple of old french guys with hookers smoking joints. Jean was a very nice guy and loved to point at the sky, kiss his hand, and say Jah Rasta. The highlight of the night was the coconut I had been saving for 48 hours. In Belo I drained the inside of a cocnut and filled it with some Madagascar Rum. I corked the top with a pretty shell from the beach and carried the thing around with me for two days making sure it didnt spill or leave my side. After 48 hours of the rum marinating inside with the fresh coconut meat, it was ready for my sailor lips on my bday. And let me tell you......

Everyone has those times when they want to express something but dont have the words; this is how I feel now; all choked up over the sweetest taste that has ever touched my lips. The rum still had that great alcohol kick that made your nose scrunch and your lips purse. But the taste; the taste of the rum dancing on my tongue was like Scott Hamilton skating around in the 1984 Sarajevo Olympics grasping the Gold even with testicular cancer. It was awe inspiring.

After this we had the first shower in a few days, and even with its pathetic water pressure and pissing spray It was welcomed fully. We woke early and headed to the National Park of Kirindy. It was a long taxi bouse ride out and then a 5km walk to the park entrance. After arriving just inside the bungalo area there were lemurs snakes, iguanas, and even fusa. A fusa by the way has the largest penis then any other mammal. That is when compared to its body size. If a male homosapien had the same ratio then he would have a member averaging in the size of a whomping 16 inches. After seeing all these animals we decided to do a nocturnal night walk. Lots of snakes, lemurs, and even a very dinky owl. The next morning we had to go back to Morondava to catch a Taxi Bousse from hell to Antananarivo.

Advertisement



19th January 2009

boozy chops
I hear there is great coconut rum to be tasted 'out there.' And by that I mean outside of the restrictions and trade embargoes of the US confinement. It's difficult for my virgin taste buds to imagine. The thought, based on past experience, of coconut rum makes a sugary chill run down my spine.

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0537s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb