Sunday Best


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Western Province
March 7th 2014
Published: March 7th 2014
Edit Blog Post

This is coming late because of my bronchial cough and problems with Internet access.

Thank you for your prayers, which have sustained me well.

On Sunday Ben and Lillian came for me to go to their church, which is the one Ben grew up in in Bumala. We arrived late and were given seats just inside the door where there was a breeze. I was welcomed by the pastor but my voice was very weak. Ben translated. My impression was that women outnumbered men. They were dressed in long brightly coloured dresses with head coverings. The children came in and led the congregation in singing, clapping and dancing with great energy for a long time. The senior pastor and Ben spoke. The style is to shout and have the P.A. system turned way up. Then the visiting pastor spoke. Ben and I left early because he had got me an appointment with a doctor in the next village. We were waiting for a mararu but a car stopped and gave us a ride to the hospital door. I have a bronchial cough and was given an antibiotic and other medicine which have gradually cured me. We came back by matatu.

The rest of Sunday I reated. The clothes for the children were given out, as arranged, at 5 o'clock but I couldn't go. Ben took my camera so I have photos. They were all very grateful. Ben said some children from the neighborhood saw what was going on and they wanted to get too. This meant some of the families Lillian had sorted for had to go a little short.

Monday was another day of recovery for me with my voice gradually growing stronger. I meant to do my blog but had Internet problems. In the evening Ben and I met with the men's group he has formed from the husbands of the women he has worked with for a while. He feels the families will make more progress if the husbands are involved. The men introduced themselves and spoke of their work. They were very grateful for the clothes I had brought, especially the ball caps.

Thank you Lord for the strength you give us.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0361s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb