When you cannot trust your eyes…how a backpacker can be shocked


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Rift Valley Province » Masai Mara NP
April 18th 2014
Published: April 22nd 2014
Edit Blog Post

Since I arrived to Kenya with no plans whatsoever, I had to take what was offered. After an amazing visit to neighbouring Tansania and a great safari trip through some of the best national parks I decided to visit the famous Masai Mara National Park in Kenya. These trips are always exciting if you're a single traveler, because you never know what kind of people will join you on it. In Tansania I had great company, a young German veterinarian Jessica and a Polish adventurous explorer Joseph. We ha dan amazing time, although we didn't expect anything from the safari trip, we just went to see. It was introduced to us that we would be sleeping in tents, which is awesome, because I love camping, and this is what we actually did. We had simple tents with a matress inside and we were more than shocked by the fact that each one of us gets his own tent! It was simple, we had a cook preparing our meals or taking care of our lunch boxes, we showered (which we also didn't expect) and they had cold beer…well, ok, we saw a lot of animals too hahahaha. In the end, a great experience.

My Kenyan safari started from the hostel I stayed in and an evening before I was introduced to a lady, a bit older, which was »super talkative«, as my fellow safari traveler. And we would pick up two more girls. Well, let's see then how it goes I thought to myself, since I got really spoiled with the company in Tansania. A mother with her doughter joined us as well, and I began wondering how we're going to sleep in one big tent most probably and the greatest fear of all was, there would be no coffee except of the one for breakfast. So, we started our journey and the »talkative« lady had almost 5 hours to explain her whole life, so right now I have the feeling I've known her for ages, but she's nice too J After a bumpy 2-hour ride all I could think of was a cup of coffee and a cigarette, so I started questioning our driver about the tents, if we will set up the camp and how's with dinner and stuff, and hej ust looked at me a bit weird, but explained that it's a permanent camp and that yes, maybe tomorrow there will be chapati for dinner. I wondered though where the cook is….but anyway.

There's the camp. Looks ok, in the middle of nothing, nice trees, perfect scenery. We approach the reception and first I think we're just going to stop and register ourselves. But no, we stop, we geto ut, we get little welcome drinks…and a cold towel. A COLD TOWEL! I was turning around to orientate myself, while suddenly our bags disappeared from the trunk and the next minute I realize it, they are waiting in front of the reception with a bunch of »room stewards«. I got Peter. Peter is my room steward. I beg you pardon??

Peter says I should follow him, he'll take me to my tent. I follow. Somewhere with the corner of my eye I realizem my travel companion are not following me, so I get confused. Where are they going to sleep? Peter points out the way and I'm standing with the key in my hand in front ouf a house, which is actually a tent. Ok, the size of the tent is telling me, that I'm apparently going to sleep with a lot of people…which is fine, I have earplugs. I enter the room/house/tent…and I see…one huge room…one bed..and no people. Wait. Something's not getting into my brain. Peter stands there, explaining me how the safe works and how to turn on hot water and all I can do is look like an idiot at him. He asks me if I'm fine. »Is that room only for me?« I can hardly express myself. He looks even weirder than our driver and seems totally confused. »Yes, that's your room« is his answer. I cannot even speak and all I do is just move my head in order to somehow confirm that I understood what he's saying. Ok, now again, THIS room, the WHOLE room, with super fancy bathroom, a dance floor and balcony is FOR ME ONLY?

That's too much. I have to first sit down on my BALCONY, having a coffee which I prepared in MY ROOM, because there are cups, and coffee and a water boiler. So much about having coffee.

Peter left. I'm standing in the middle of the tent/room/house and I'm not even able to put down my things. Next thing I do….throw myself on the huge bed!!!!!!!!! Are you kidding me??? That's like a residence, for me only! I'm happy like a small kid who's got his favorite cup in yellow color.

Once again I realize, how expectation can kill everything, or the opposite can make you the happiest human being in the world. Most people would probably be like »yeah, and where's wifi and stuff?«, but me, I'm so thrilled about what I got and now even my talkative friend has to listen about it at dinner. Yeah, buffet dinner. Dinner. Food. This reminds me of….it's dinner time!!!!!!! J

Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 41; dbt: 0.0473s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb