The Tragic Demise of a Swallow


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Rift Valley Province » Laikipia
April 16th 2008
Published: April 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Shocked SwallowShocked SwallowShocked Swallow

Seconds before its death . . . that look of bewilderment and horror haunts me.
A extremely tragic thing happened to me this morning: in the process of trying to save a bird, I inadvertently killed it. Let me explain:

While checking my e-mail in the office at approximately 0630, a Lesser Striped Swallow flew in through the wide-open door and couldn’t seem to find its way back out of the room. Remembering that there was a butterfly net in the corner, I grabbed it and tried to net the swallow as it flew in frantic circles above my head, inches beneath the ceiling. After a few unsuccessful attempts in which the bird gracefully dodged every thrust of the net, I gave up to return to my computer, hoping the bird would figure itself out.

Several minutes of incessantly flapping wings later, I decided it definitely needed some assistance in finding an escape, and tried my hand at the butterfly net again (thinking it’d be easier since the bird had unquestionably tired itself out). My crouched anticipation of the swallow's next pass must have distracted the bird from its flying, for it crashed into one of the ceiling’s beams milliseconds before I was about to make my move. It miraculously survived, tumbling a bit
RIP, LSSWRIP, LSSWRIP, LSSW

Rest in Peace, Lesser Striped Swallow . . .
but regaining itself before continuing its frenetic circling, though definitely at a slower rate as a result of the slight shock from the collision. I thought this in my favor - its reaction time would surely be slower and it would now have a more difficult time dodging my net.

I was half-right. On the next thrust of the net, the swallow managed to dodge the gaping opening but slam head-first into the net’s metal rim. With a twitter and flailing wings, the hapless bird was sent spiraling directly at my head. Fearing the impact of a swallow to the temple, I tried ducking by moving back while simultaneously lowering my head sideways, such that my ear touched my shoulder. It was more of an instinctive reaction than anything and, in retrospect, I probably should have tried a different maneuver - by ducking my head against my shoulder, in order to protect the side of my face, I managed to catch the bird twixt my cheek and my clavicle, crushing it. This was not something I could do if I had tried . . . in a million attempts, I could not repeat such an ill-fated feat.

I don't know if I actually mortally wounded the bird, or just gave it the shock of its life . . . but this ultimately killed it, as it died in my hand shortly thereafter.

I felt horrible for the unfortunate swallow . . . it had made a wrong turn and wound up dead. On one hand, I feel terribly guilty. On the other, though, when I step back and think about the absurdity of what happened, I can't help but see it as being tragically comedic. A real-life avian tragicomedy, if you will. It is, after all, extremely difficult to kill a bird with only your cheek and your clavicle.

Advertisement



4th May 2008

Vincent
That sure is.... really funny and so horrible at the same time! Couldnt help but laugh to the text "that look of bewilderment and horror haunts me". In Japanese they have a good word for that sort of laugh; waracchau. Which means something like... laugh but you dont wont it sometimes. Anyhow, nice blog!
4th May 2008

Waracchau
I'm going to have to remember that word! Thanks for the comment!

Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0319s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb