Encouraged and Inspired


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Nairobi Province
April 3rd 2012
Published: April 3rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Last night I had the privilege of spending the night with Kaylie Sauter, a missionary from LifePoint Church who has been living in Nairobi for the last two years. It was AWESOME!!!!! I am totally inspired, strengthened, and encouraged by what God is doing through her, and how willing she is to be the hands and feet of Jesus.

Kaylie lives in an apartment on the outskirts of the Kibera slum. We laid awake till 2 am just talking about life, the good and the bad, the past and the future, and what Jesus was teaching us through it all. I was soooo excited to use transportation Kenyan style and walk in the footsteps of a missionary.

This morning Kaylie and I met with a woman named Ciru who is currently trying to open an orphanage in the slum to rescue child prostitutes ages 8-12 named "One Lamb." She was such a gentle spirit, with a beautiful heart and bleeding passion. She shared with me how one night she was sleeping and was woken up in the middle of the night and turned on her TV. She watched in disbelief as CNN reported on the FREEDOM PROJECT. She was horrified, and had no idea this was going on. She felt motivated to learn more and do something about it.Then birthed "One Lamb." Really excited to see what Jesus does with this ministry.

We walked through the Kibera slum to visit the Center for Transforming Missions, the ministry that Kaylie is here with. I had a wonderful conversation with Shem and Mike about a project they are filming. They are currently creating a talk show called Cancer Talk, in hopes of educating the Kenyan population on the most common cancers in Kenya and how to prevent them. Cancer just recently became a public health issue in Kenya. Cervical cancer being the most common, followed by breast and prostate. Cancer used to be known as a "Western Disease," and is just now becoming an issue here. This was such a cool conversation to be a part of........Excited for their passion for public health. #innerhealthteacherdontjudge

We then spent some time with Greater Heart Ministries in the Kawangwarie Slum where Kaylie teaches. It was SO fun to walk into this one room school with 75 students crammed in all screaming and excited to see "Teacha Kaylie. I was able to watch Kaylie teach a lesson on all the Continents. Waaaaayyyyy fun!!! We then took these children down to the field to play games and sing songs. The craziest thing happened..... The sun was directly above us, with a few beautiful white clouds in the sky....no rain in sight....and right above us, there was a RAINBOW AROUND THE SUN. Like....a circle halo around the sun directly above us. I have NEVER seen or heard about this crazy phenomenon. I can't wait to show you this picture. What does it mean?!?!?

Our final stop was the Inspiration Center in the Mathare slum, where Kaylie also serves. We were able to hang out at the Baby Care center where we played with 9 children around 2years of age. SO cute.

My day was great....but not all great. I was almost pickpocketted in town. Kaylie caught a guy behind me with his hand inside my book bag. She grabbed his arm and yelled at him. #yougogirl thankful to report the thief didn't get a thing. #thankful a bit later some Kenyan men decided they were entitled to come up behind us and put their hands in our hair and mess it around. I had to remind myself I am a Christian. #lambnotalion

God's creativity was so evident today. From the rainbow, to the minutes of downpouring rain, to the beautiful bright yellow and black butterfly that landed right next to me, wings open! #picturetaken #butterflykisses

I am so thankful, and so humbled to have had this opportunity to walk alongside Kaylie today. Our conversations and experiences were challenging and exciting. Jesus is using her in a way that I have no words to explain. So thankful for her heart and obedience.

Today...... I was slapped in the face all over again with how God can use my education, my experiences, and my passion to impact people. There is SO much opportunity here in Africa. So whatever it is that you feel passionate about....let God use it to change the world. #prayercircles

Leaving in the morning for Rwanda!!!!!! #rampedup

Thanks for reading xoxoxo

Advertisement



Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0571s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb