Habari! My second week in Kenya!


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Nairobi Province » Nairobi
October 18th 2006
Published: October 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hello all! Slightly less glamorous this week involving no trips to the Safari Park. Instead I have been tearing my weak little office hands apart helping to build two new classrooms at Neema School. I also attempted to become a Maths teacher, however some confusion arose as to my role. Pious, the maths teacher, decided I was a useful excercise book buyer and marking assistant, so I bought him the books and marked one lot of answers then politely told him I was no longer able to help due to all the building work going on. Sometimes charity is about picking where you are of most use...also I am larger than the average Kenyan 9 year old and sitting on their desks was starting to give me a sore bum. Anyway, onwards and upwards! Turns out there are around 10 more houses that need help being built so its back to the manual stuff for this failed academic.

Its not all hard work though. We have a good laugh at the compound and on Saturday night we went to probably the strangest yet funniest night club I have ever darkened the door of. There was a concrete pit for a dancefloor and the odd 'lady of the night' in there to entertain the bottom of the food chain. The DJ was funny and was happy to have us climb up and down the old wooden ladder to his box to request amongst other things Shakira and Phil Collins. Sadly he must have forgetten Phil at home so we got Shakira about three times. A 4am return (and a minor detour to what appeared to be a ploughed field to avoid imaginary hijackers) meant that Sunday was a wash out. Fun though. Sadly I have no pictures.

Anyway, today we are off to a project area in Mt Elgon, one of the poorest areas covered by the charity so it should be interesting to see what they are doing to help and see if there is anything we can add.

Missing you all as always,

Hywel

PS Thanks for the comments, Iwan - Yes I do feel like Bono and its an unsettling feeling. Branson - I miss you too but it is you who is a scumbag. Barnes - Stroking Lions was only the beggining, I then killed a gazzelle using my teeth.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



18th October 2006

Is It true?
Hywel - I heard Madonna tried to adopt you whilst on her tour of Africa but ended up with second choice....?
18th October 2006

When you're done over there...
Could you take a look at my garage door? It's not opening very smoothly.

Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0762s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb