Africa is calling…


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Nairobi Province » Nairobi
April 1st 2014
Published: April 17th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Spending 3 months at home on vacation? Rather spend some of the time traveling! Of course everybody asked me why I would travel again, since I do that basically for work, but truth is, it’s not the same thing. I missed my backpack, the wonderful feeling of arriving to a hostel late at night after an exhausting day exploring, noisy and smelly streets (yeah, you can actually miss that!), super crowded public buses and notorious drivers, tasting different food and the good old fear that is always a bit present.

So I’ve been sitting in my room and thinking about where to go…and then I saw one of my Lonely Planet books on the shelf, that was a gift from my friends for my birthday. I never opened it. I’ve never thought about it….wait…what if…of course! Africa is the answer! This book was like a sign. But then…still had to decide on which country and what I want to see. Well, the decision was very much influenced by the flight prices, so somehow Kenya won. Of course after I already bought my ticket, I also decide to read a bit about this country, and guess what, of course April is like the worst time to visit because of the rainy season….typical. But that means also cheaper prices and not so many tourists. Off we go!

Preparations were running very smooth, my vaccination book is already filled with all possible stuff from before, visa is on arrival, only thing missing were those malaria pills, which apparently can give me a nice trip for free as well, but, according to my doctor, that happens like once in 1000 cases…well then, free hallucinating included…shut up and take my money!

If I’m sure I wanna go to Africa by myself? Of course I’m sure! I have to say that since I’ve done it for the first time, traveling alone I mean, I don’t wanna do anything else anymore. It’s nice to meet people along the way, but if you’re alone, all decisions are yours, everything is possible and nothing is for sure.

What will be waiting for me in this mysterious land of wild animals and Masai people?

I spend some 2 weeks analyzing around a million tour operators offering safaris, but in the end I was even more confused than before, so I decided to just go and see what’s gonna happen. Of course you can book a tour super last minute, you can do that everywhere, right??

Next mission was my backpack…for the first time in my years of traveling I wanted to break my record in…..weight of course! My personal goal was under 15 kg, which I managed with no problem at all, I even went as far as only 14.30!!! So proud of myself! And I took only 3 pairs of shoes….well…one of them being flip flops, so that doesn’t count….only 2!! Yaaaay!

Ready to go? Ready!






<iframe id="blogtext_ifr" style="width: 100%!;(MISSING) height: 387px; display: block;" title="Rich Text AreaPress ALT-F10 for toolbar. Press ALT-0 for help" src="javascript:" frameborder="0"></iframe><br id="blogtext_ifr" style="width: 100%!;(MISSING) height: 387px; display: block;" title="Rich Text AreaPress ALT-F10 for toolbar. Press ALT-0 for help" />



Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0433s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb