St.Dorcas Children's home


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Nairobi Province » Nairobi
June 23rd 2011
Published: June 23rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

032032032

Classroom's
Just got back home form my first day at St Dorcas children's home and what a day it was. Started off by teaching English to about 13 kids aged between 12 to 14 plus one 19 year old in what is equivalent to about year 6 in the UK. First of all you could tell just how grateful the kids where about about me being there. They all clapped when I arrived in the room and then when I told them that I was going to be spending about 7/8 weeks with them they all had the biggest smiles I have ever seen. Then I handed out some pens, pencils and rulers that I had brought over from the UK, you would of thought it was christmas by their reactions. They were so grateful for such a small gift. Then it was on with the lesson, those who know me very well will know that when it's comes to English I'm not very good, had to teach them about nouns and adjectives, just as well that I had a book to help me has I had forgotten myself. The next classes I taught where year 5, English and then year 3
033033033

2 door on left Classroom's and 2 doors on right Bedrooms
and 4, teaching Maths. During breaks they all had me out playing football with, even though I'm not very good at it I had a great time.

I have to say a lot of the kids there are very intelligent, there are also some that due to not having the chance to go to school before are way behind, hence the 19 year old boy in the same class as 12 to 14 year old. When I spoke to some of the older kids you could tell that they want to make a future for themselves, one wanted to be a vet, another to work be a teacher and another wanted to be a lawyer.

I also met a girl who was about 11 who was always very quite during class and then during break would always sit on her own, when I asked one of the teachers about her they said that she is new to the orphanage and that she had been raped by her own father 6 times. It really brings home to you what these kids have been through and just how important orphanages like this is, as without them the little girl wouldn't have somewhere she can feel safe and the 19 year old would never have the chance for an education.

For those of you who know Colin and John, you will know they are climbing Mt Killi next month and have very kindly decided to raise money for St Dorcas. I can tell you know they are desperate for cash. All the kids blankets that they sleep on are threadbare, they get exactly the same 3 meals a day, if they are lucky, a very watery porridge for breakfast, a bean and corn broth for lunch and dinner. On Saturdays they sometimes get a treat and have rice for dinner. They each sleep 2 to 3 to a mattress on these makeshift bunks. They are also hoping to build some more buildings so that different school years don't have to share the same classroom and so they can have more bedrooms so each child gets a bed to themselves. They are also in desperate need of the basics like school books, pens, pencils, rulers, rubbers, exercise books ect. If you would like to sponsor Colin and John then please do email me at chrisdavidhall@gmail.com and I can give you the details.

I hope you have found this bog as interesting as my day was today.








Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

042042
042

One of the Bedroom's. each bed sleeps 2/3 kids


13th January 2012
043

St.Dorcas
Yes, I was moved too when I was there, and recently sent them money. I know it will be put to good use.

Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0394s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb