Fire Training Day


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Nairobi Province » Nairobi
January 20th 2011
Published: January 20th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I met a new team today, these guys are to be the Nairobi Fire Wardens. - here is a picture of them

Mike and I trained the team in what fire is, how it starts and how to put it out etc, they were a great bunch, very friendly and asked me alot about the UK economy. They were interested in wages and what the minimum wage was, when I explained this to them they thought WOW that is alot of money, but then I explained the cost of living, mortgages, Council tax, bills etc - they nearly fell off of their chairs. They said I would be rich if I lived in their country as many people can live on 1-2 US dollars a day. For the price of my Maisonette in Langley I could afford to buy an estate, they did their best to convince me to move to Nairobi, I politely declined 😊

Mike and I have been convinced to go out and eat in Carnivores tonight, almost everyone I have met so far has said - you must go there - so we will be going tonight! the team suggests goat - im not so sure 😊

Today I saw two workers on scaffolding, fast asleep, these guys are not employees of the company I work for - thank goodness - here are pictures of them fast akip - crazy!


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0241s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb