Bring Me Sunshine…


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Nairobi Province » Nairobi
November 17th 2009
Published: November 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


So launch was successful - and I’m here! As promised, a photo of me “before”, with my first update. On my way, with new shoes, new (huge) rucksack and not a single visa - just a good old British passport.

After the days of storms before I left, I was looking forward to some sunny blue skies in Africa. As I turned to go, Morecambe and Wise’s “Bring Me Sunshine” was on loop in my head. Of course, it’s good news that there has been quite a bit of rain here recently... Nairobi is pretty green and in flower.

By day, I’ve enjoyed this city. It's much more aesthetic than I'd expected and I've made some nice ‘walking friends’… Julius, Harrison, Max, Dickens, Johnson... you get it… The tourist trade seems to be where the draught is at the moment and I’ve drawn some attention when out walking (I gave market day a miss).

By night isn't so much fun and I’ve stayed near the hotel so far. It's a bit dull, but for John Le Carre. And last night, I stayed up worrying about two little cockroaches most of the night. Then, I got the Eric and Ernie loop again… come on sunrise... it's definitely my Nairobi anthem.

So, the morning brings a shiny new day. I’ve managed to just get my butt out there and am loving it so far… Tomorrow, I meet up with Geoffrey from Sense International - a friendly face and a break from the ‘routine’ of the last two days ;o). Meanwhile, I’m tucking into my first ‘Tusker Beer’ in the hotel bar.

I’ll update again before I leave the Wi-Fi bliss of Nairobi and after my visit with Geoffrey, to report on how all your cool toys go down with the kids. If you click ‘subscribe’ you will get an email when I update - it doesn’t send your details anywhere and I won’t be writing constantly, so go ooon.

Thank you all for such a fun farewell too and your messages.

Jambo!

Bring me Sunshine, in your smile,
Bring me Laughter, all the while,
In this world where we live, there should be more happiness,
So much joy you can give, to each brand new bright tomorrow,
Make me happy, through the years,
Never bring me, any tears,
Let your arms be as warm as the sun from up above,
Bring me fun, bring me sunshine, bring me love.
Bring me Sunshine, in your eyes,
Bring me rainbows, from the skies,
Life's too short to be spent having anything but fun,
We can be so content, if we gather little sunbeams,
Be light-hearted, all day long,
Keep me singing, happy songs,
Let your arms be as warm as the sun from up above,
Bring me fun, bring me sunshine, bring me love


Advertisement



17th November 2009

OH MY GOD!!!!!
Morecambe and Wise’s “Bring Me Sunshine” Darling Nikkers you really did need to get out a bit more....... Now go & enjoy the world & for god sake change the bloody record :) JJ x
17th November 2009

JJ, I might sound like a four year old, but these first days are... emotional! I HATE cockroaches and need sleep! Okay, okay... another Tusker waiter! x
18th November 2009

Sunshine
I think getting some rain is good at first - that way you dont have to miss London too soon ;). Love the Sunshine song - old but o'so true!! By the way, according to my recconaissance (Guru), lizards do a good cockroach control - maybe you could find a pet one - remember Freddie? :) - and you wont have to feed him ;)... xx
18th November 2009

I'm loving your blogging...
Hi gorgeous nikki... It sounds like all is going well... i cant wait to hear more, and more and more... my life in Blighty is dull at the moment. keep having fun sweetie Jen, john and the girls xx xx
19th November 2009

viking - Southwesterly gale force 8 expected soon...
The routine sounds too hard to bear ;-) Actually cities aren't always the best, remember old Lima!? Love the "leaving airport" pic, good to see you've packed adequate food and water supplies for the next 10 months!! Anyhoo, tuned into your blog and looking forward to hearing of all your adventures ahead! G xxx
22nd November 2009

Could be worse, could be wasps....
...or that's what I tell myself every time I'm faced with the nasty 'roaches :) Keep the updates coming, you'll be giving us all itchy feet in no time (although new shoes?? I hope you broke them in well girlie or there'll be blisters before you know it). Sending lots of love and hey - don't worry about the lack of sunshine - there's plenty in Barbados :) See you soooooon! Hxxxxx

Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0521s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb