A Place Among the Turtles


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Coast Province » Shimoni
September 18th 2010
Published: September 18th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Well, I found out where I will be spending the next three months. It's a place called Vipingo, and it's an hour north of Mombasa. It's a more conservation oriented place, versus more aimed at tourism. They have had 130 turtle nests since January, and there are 8 currently on the beach. I'll be living with a homestay family, which is exciting. I'll also have access to a computer and the internet so I can do research, which I will definitely be doing. I'm hopefully going to be looking into building a hatchery, giving presentations on the different types of marine life seen in the area, and making up forms to be able to record them. That will probably take up a lot of my time during the expo, and I may spend a few weeks in Mombasa at the KESCOM office doing data entry. The whole thing sounds very exciting, and I know I can do good work there.

Other then that, not much has happened this week. I have been in Shimoni helping out the staff with between expo stuff, such as updating forms and contact sheets. It's been pretty quiet. On Friday I went for a walk in the forest, and it was really nice because I hadn't been there for 7 weeks. I packed a lunch, saw some squirrels, and ate in a place next to the ocean called Mordor. It's called that because a few months ago the owner was having most of the trees cut down and burned in piles, so it looked like the and of Mordor from the Lord of the Rings.

Nothing much else exciting. As a side note, and I didn't realize this: For all the Canadian readers, did you know that the British spell tire with a 'y'? Tyre. I saw that spelling of the word all over petrol stations in Mombasa, and when I made a comment on it a British volunteer sitting next to me replied: Why, how do you spell it? It was funny.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0582s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb