Nairobi to Mombasa


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Coast Province » Mombasa
October 27th 2007
Published: October 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Here's a belated entry from when we left Nairobi and headed to Mombasa...

We've now left Nairobi - took a 16hour overnight train on Friday to Mombasa, where we stayed with Julia's cousin, Emma. On arriving there we had a 1/2hour stop at the house to have a shower (aka wash in a bucket of water) and were then hurried out for a walking tour of the town and coast, seeing Fort Jesus etc. Thinking we were then heading back to Emma's house, we found ourselves at the pre-Birthday party get-together of the family of a 2 year old girl, who was the daughter of a friend of the family. Apparently Claire and I were the patrons of this party...unfortunately for them we were far too tired after our long journey and busy day to stick around for the party itself, and so after about 2 hours of sitting around, not really sure what we were supposed to be doing (we didn't know at that point about the whole patron thing), we excused ourselves and went back to Emma's to repack our bags ready for the 10 hour bus ride (leaving at 7am) to Dar es Salaam the next day.

Although we were both sad to have left the orphanage and the kids there, we were ready to move on to the next part of our travels, and leave Nairobi. Unfortunately, I had my purse stolen from my bag on a bus (it was in a zipped pocket in a zipped bag, the bag was around my shoulder and I had my hand on it the whole time, so not sure how it was taken) 2 days before we left Nairobi, so am currently without bank cards or a UK driving licence...Claire's bailing me out for the time being! Had quite a comedy time at the police station getting a receipt for a police report as they charged 50 shillings for each card stolen and 100shillings for my driving licence - they couldn't understand our disbelief at having to pay for having my money taken...more to the point they didn't seem to understand that given I'd just had my money taken, I didn't have any money to pay them with!



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



28th October 2007

Sorry to hear about your wallet!
Hey there Helen, So sorry to hear about your wallet being stolen. Becs and I had some stuff stolen while we were abroad and when we got the police involved, it seemed that while our backs where turned, the stole more stuff too! Not good. So we can sympathise with you. Hope you're managing to get things sorted. Hope the rest of your trip is less eventful. Loves and prayers Dan and Becs

Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0444s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb