Jambo!


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Coast Province » Mombasa
April 21st 2007
Published: April 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Mombasa RooftopsMombasa RooftopsMombasa Rooftops

This is the view from the hotel room.
Well here I am. Mombasa. The last 7 or so months have built up to this and now I'm finally here. Weird. The journey over was relatively uneventful. I had to check-in my hand luggage at the last moment as I wasn't allowed sun cream on board the plane with me so I spent the first journey with just the bare minimum and Nairobi airport was a little complicated to navigate but I arrived in Mombasa just 1 hour later than my expected arrival time (this was due to a cabin crew member at Nairobi not turning up!). Isaiah (the assistant in-country coordinator for i-to-i) picked me and another girl, Karen, up and brought us to the Mason hotel. It's a reasonably nice hotel - has a shower and a Western-style toilet anyway! Another two volunteers will join us later tonight. We will sleep at the hotel tonight, have an orientation meeting tomorrow morning and then move into our new digs and start our new jobs on Monday morning! I slept a little after Isaiah had dropped us off and as we have the whole rest of the day to ourselves I've just wandered up and down the main "high
Manson Hotel RoomManson Hotel RoomManson Hotel Room

First port of call. The Manson Hotel. Don't worry the beds were pushed apart before night time!
street" of Mombasa and found this little internet cafe almost opposite our hotel! I walked around and had some lunch for a total of about one-and-a-half hours and in that time I saw 2 other white people - who looked just as out of place as I felt! Everyone seems to be very friendly so far, but more often than not it's because they want to sell you something or offer a service for a bit of cash. They seem to see my pale skin and the $ signs roll up in their eyes (rightly so I might add!) I still haen't got used to the exchange rate or what is accepted as decent tipping so I've probably been over-tipping to the max so far but I'll learn! Mombasa is a lot poorer than I imagined and a lot more run-down. I haven't explored very far but so far it seems very "shack-ey" and in a little disrepair. I should get a better chance to explore tomorrow in the orientation but we'll see. I'm going to go and have a shower and another kip before dinner (which is provided for us!) and my time at this caf has nearly run out. Please leave me messages or send me emails - I'll appreciate it so much! And also a huge thank you to everyone who wrote in my book (or in Jack's case, on a piece of lined A4 paper!). It means so much to me to have something like that with me so thank you - especially to Amy and Spud who I assumed plotted the whole thing (and my "suspices" were right about you two!)
Love to you all,
Ben xx

Advertisement



21st April 2007

Winner, winner, chicken Dinner!
Well shotgun! The first comment! :) I hear Amy completely ruined my efforts in the book and stole the first and last words, I'm gutted! Glad to hear that things are going well so far, I can't believe that you're half way around the world... crazy schtuff man. When you get a SIM card let me know so I can text you. Your mum says it's pretty chezp to text tho' so if you haven't got a new SIM card I'll give you a text in a couple of days. Well I have to say it's all kicking off hear... I've literally just got dressed (13:30...)! And it's half time in the Spurs vs Scummers games, thought you might want to know that the white half of North London are 1-0 up :) To be fair though you did just hit the inside of the post about 2 minutes before the half time. I'll try and leave another comment with the final score. I got a text from your mum saying that you had arrived and that you were in a hotel with some girl, I almost wet myself thinking "fair play, that was quick!" You don't waste time do you? :P well, hopefully speak to you soon pal :) Spud/The John/Rick/"insert pretty much anything you want here..."
21st April 2007

C'mon the Spurs!
Ok well after going into half time 1-0 we come out and basically got owned for the whole of the 2nd half, going 2-1 down with 15 minutes left. However, somehow in injury time Jenas managed to slot one home to give Spurs a point! Woohoo! 2-2, how we managed to blag a point I don't know... but we did :) puts us back into a UEFA cup place! Speak to you in a bit pal!
21st April 2007

Well done
I'm so proud of you - you've done so well! It's great to be able to read what you're up to, and it'll be a record for you too, to treasure. email on the way as well...
22nd April 2007

you are finally there!!!
wow you are finally there! that is amazing! thankyou for letting me know you got there safe !! i thought i'd leave a message here incase you check this first but i have just sent you an e-mail! xxx
22nd April 2007

hello
I'm so gald you arrived safe and well, i've been worrying about you so much, weird about the no sun cream on the plane thing, whats that all about??? Dont give away too much of your money in tips straight away! You'll need some of it to live heehee. What are the people like who you are going to be voluntering with??? It must be great to meet all these new people I am so very jelous! I managed to get sun burnt yesterday, I was extreamly happy about that, summer is making its way to england!!! Yay, we went to the beach and swam in the sea which was bloody freezing, and the others i was with were all in their wet suits because they are keen surfing geeks, and thought it wouldbe hilarious to completely soak me...i was not ammused...well, maybe a little bit hehe! I've moved into my new flat, which was very exciting lol! i hopw to hear lots from you whilst your travelling, please make sure you keep safe, i will be worrying about you lots! And of course keep praying, we shall all be here thinking of you take care my dear, missing you lots x x x x
22nd April 2007

And he's away!
Mate, first with the bad news. Arsenal drew 2-2 with Spurs... I know, I know, i nearly cried and all. Even worse since we dominated the entire second half, hit the post three times and they only scored the last in 90+5 minutes! Really glad you got out there ok. Is there a church anywhere near you? Shall be praying for you, so if any major needs come up be sure to let us know. It's strange to think you're out there, and not just sitting at home in Grove... I'm surprised your MSN doesn't say "Away" or something... odd to see it not turned on for once! But i'm sure the effects of your abscence will be felt with greater force as time goes on. Hope you settle in ok, and look after the cash! Look forward to the next entry.

Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0627s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb