Last Day of Electricity


Advertisement
Guinea's flag
Africa » Guinea » Labé
February 14th 2008
Published: February 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

MmmmmMmmmmMmmmm

Andrew & Katy a little excited about our eggs and potato dinner at the Labe office :)
11 February 2008
Yesterday for dinner we went to a restaurant and ordered hamburgers. We got hard boiled eggs covered with a thin layer of ground beef swimming in a pool of oil and cold french fries. We opted to make our own dinner tonight and made pancakes with chocolate sauce, mexican eggs, salsa, guacamole, and garlic bread. A little random but amazing.

12 February 2008
Yesterday we went shopping. Kim and I got lost a couple times in the market and got about 20 marriage proposals. It's a time intensive process, so even though we were out all day we only bought about 10 items, all really random: tye-dye sheets, a foot brush, flip flops, a radio, a bucketm ketchup, a thermus, cups, and 3 meters of fabric which I'm using for a tablecloth and a skirt.

14 February 2008
Happy Valentine's Day everyone! I'm in Labe right now which is great because it's about 10 degrees cooler than the rest of Guinea. Hooray for being in the Fouta region. Tomorrow I'm moving into my new house in a village that's 2-5 hours away (depends on the vehicle and the weather). I've been spending the past couple days shopping, eating, and trying to figure out how to get around Guinean cities (well, just Conakry and Labe).

I'll try to write again in about a month or so. Until then, send me lots of letters. There is cell phone service in my village but no electricity, so I'll try to leave my phone on on Thursdays during daylight hours (for me, not you). Women shouldn't really be out alone at night and if I want service I have to stand next to a tree. If you want the number, look for it on facebook or talk to my Dad, Claudia, or Nina.

Hope to hear from you soon!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0519s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb