Day Forty-One; Tuesday, April 15 '08


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Volta » Ho
April 15th 2008
Published: April 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I was expecting to start the day off at Hohoe Hospital doing HIV Counseling but the head of teh unit was ill so I have to go back next week. I went to Christ with no lesson plan which is an adventure in itself. We read a book together and worked on writing letters to America.

When we got to Christ Rachel and Patience were so excited to see me. Sistofe again thanked us for buying her shoes.

After placement I ate lunch and climbed Mt. Afadjato with British Rebecca. The mountain is about 20 minutes past WLI Waterfalls. It is the tallest mountain in West Africa. We met with our guide and set out for a 45 minute climb. The climb was much more brutal than I anticipated. It was pretty much a straight ascent.

When we finally got to the top it was the most stunning thing I've seen in Ghana. The actual platform to stand on the mountaintop was smaller than a large living room. From the summit Lake Volta, Hohoe, and WLI are all visible. Rebecca and I were awestruck by what we were looking at. We sat around and didn't speak for a good half hour.

The descent was actually much further, or felt that way at least. It was much more difficult than the ascent. Foot placement was really key and Rebecca and I were scolded multiple times for not stepping where we were told.

When we got down the mountain we were literally dripping sweat from our faces, arms, and even legs.

We arrived at home base, showered, and went out for dinner at Boondocks, a restaurant we ate at my first night in Hohoe. We came home early as now durfew is being strictly enforced.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0557s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb