Day Eight; March 13, '08


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Volta » Ho
March 13th 2008
Published: March 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Woke up early and ate ostrich egg for breakfast. Got to the orphanage and again sang. This time, I brought stickers for the kids, which was a big mistake. They went absolutely crazy. I think it caused more crying and chaos than happiness. I had lunch and went to get an identity card picture taken; you'll all need to see it when I get back. I look like a little Dutch boy!

We stopped at the post office, bank, and phone card store. I ran almost four miles in the afternoon which was REALLY hot. We took Ewe lessons at night...maybe I'll come back speaking a tribal language!

A girl on the trip, Hope, told us about an experience she had with people trying to show her what "little people" look like. The Ghanian exlpained them as "magical creatures who come out only at night; you are supposed to give them a banana" which I still laugh uncontrollably about everytime I hear it.

I am so thankful for this trip and how much closer it has brought me to God. It has been really testing but a blessing in the end.

I'm planning on maybe volunteering at the disablwed home but not sure.

Miss you all!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0524s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb