Day Five; Monday, March 10 '08


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Volta » Ho
March 14th 2008
Published: March 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Woke up and checked out of the Bulldog but was able to leave my luggage there. I walked to the dam to take a tram to the Museumplein where the US Embassy is located. I applied for my new passport and met a girl named Jennifer who lived in Hague and offered me a place to stay. When I was eating breakfast at a "Bagels and Beans", I met a man from Boston who was concerned I was having a breakdown. Apparently you must be a Dutch resident to receive a visa for Ghana at their embassy. He assured me everything would be alright and went home to get a jacket for me to wear. I then went to the Kinkos to use the internet where he followed me to give me his old phone cards.

While waiting for the embassy to re-open, I met a woman named Marion who was very comforting and supportive. She gave me her telephone number, address, and email for any emergency. At the embassy I was again told that no one could help me. When I ended up talking to an American he called the Ghanian Embassy for me when everyone else had said they had no power to do that. He explained my situation and was able to talk them in to giving me a visa in enough time to catch a 1:40 pm flight on Tuesday. I then picked up my luggage and took a train to the Hague to meet Jennifer. She met me at the Albert Heijn supermarket and took me back to her house, which was really nice. We watched Grey's Anatomy and ate Hawaiian pizza so it was really nice to feel like I was at home.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0593s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb