Vacation


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Northern » Tamale
August 10th 2006
Published: August 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

That is right. I am in the vacation period of culture shock, and loving every minute of it. Is that bad? Well who cares I am having a great time! It does not help that I arrived in Zabzugu yesterday only to be surprised by the shape of blue mountains on the horizon, the green of the grass and the ever red of the dirt. I was promptly greeted at the District Assembly and placed at their guesthouse, my room across from where the President stays when he visits. Spoiled. And to top things off they bring my meals to me in my room. Free. All free.

But I guess this partially comes from Ghanaian culture and working for the government. They are warm loving and friendly extroverted people. I know I am still on vacation and everything seems to be perfect in Ghana. Although, I am already beginning to see trends and cultural differences in which I will be facing head on over the next year. In a battle between my beliefs and the rights of others to believe in their own values, I will have a difficult time deciding when and where to influence, refrain, or give my opinion. But discuss, yes I will. And by only telling the truth to the questions I am asked.

I am already a contradiction to what a “typical” Ghanaian would be, if I can say typical. Shocked at the fact that I am not married at the age of 24, that I have no children, and that I do not attend church. That school was more important than marriage, I want to marry my equal, I want to adopt and I want to learn about different religions. That I am with a boyfriend who is oceans away. That I am in debt.


Advertisement



14th August 2006

haha kristy, no you certainly aren't a "typical" ghanaian. but to me, it sounds like you have everything figured out! what a difference :) stay safe and keep having fun!!
18th August 2006

Haha, sounds about right! Great to read an update about ya~

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0469s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb