...And then I got Malaria...


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Northern » Tamale
June 21st 2006
Published: June 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Elephants!Elephants!Elephants!

Note the safari hat... I look so cool
...And then I got Malaria... but I still managed to ride a crocodile, go on a safari, and have a baboon come up to the table where I was eating, grap the black bag out of my purst that contained all of my cash, and chase him until he dropped it...

So yeah, we left for Bolgatanga on friday and our bus left late, broke down and needed another car to drive 2 hours up to where we were to bring us a spare part, then a tire blew just south of tamale and had to be fixed, and we finally arrived 12 hours later (should have been 6). Our hotel of choice was also full so we went to another place and I went to bed... wierdest thing about malaria is that I woke up in the night and felt weak... infact I had difficulty lifting up my water bottle to my lips... (but at this point I didn't have malaria yet... or rather didn't know I did)... I had suffered from intense stomach cramps for about 24 hours, so I took a cipro before bed (an antibiotic).

So in the morning I felt better and we went up to Paga where I rode a crocodile while wearing a dress (pictures of which I will try to post today or else the next time I'm in Kumasi, time depending), and then went and walked around the slave holding camp that is now an ecotourism site.. really interresting because if you didn't have a guide you wouldn't even know you were there... there are no walls, the slaves were just tied to each other and to trees. When we got back to bolgatanga I decided to go to the hospital (since the next day would be a sunday and then I would be away from any possible medical attention for 2 days). But apparently the ghanaian health service is on strike, so apparently there wasn't a doctor in the entire place... I finally pleaded with someone to tell me where the nearest private clinic was, and there I met a nice doctor who was shocked at my reaction when I walked back into his office after my lab test and said "there's a plus sign on my sheet... does that mean I won malaria?". After that I went home and to bed... getting up only to watch ghana play (and win) our world cup match.

Sunday we left for tamale and again had our bus brake down on the way to mole national park... so we arrived there several hours late and in the dark... way overpriced food but otherwise the place was great. We went on a walking safari where we saw elephants... like 20 feet away!... baboons, monkeys, warthogs, kob antelope, and bushbucks. Then we spent the afternoon by the pool and looking out over the waterhole watching the elephants and antelope.

Today we're back in tamale and on our way back to kumasi tonight... we have to be home to watch the world cup game with the family tomorrow at 4.

Anyways, I guess the moral of this story is that I'm happy and healthy, my malaria meds are done, and I saw some wicked wildlife... I'll try to post the pictures now.

Also, the only email I can access in Kumasi is kettelkl@gmail.com so don't send anything anywhere else!

Lindsey

ps. sorry to my family ... perhaps I should have told you I had malaria but I didn't want you to worry... I've already dealt with the insurance claim and the form should be mailed to the house by now 😊



Advertisement



21st June 2006

I am completely amazed at what you get up to!! Amazed and awed ... a lesser person would have avoided the crocodile in a dress, but "our Lindsey", well she just went ahead. P.S. Why were you wearing a dress? On a more serious note, relieved to hear that the malaria incident is passed ... Love the photos!!
21st June 2006

Amazing
Great pictures. Love the hat. And I thought it was cool to put a baby crock and here you are riding a full sized one. I'm glad you're over the Malaria. Keep the blogs coming, they're great. All the best Steve
21st June 2006

Yay! Malaria! (Ok, so, not yay.)
I hope you have a million pictures for me to look at when you come home! I want to lay in your bed with you and your pictures and you can explain everything and tell me all your stories of your adventure! I miss you! Glad you're happy and healthy!
22nd June 2006

Gawd! I'm glad to hear that you're healthy now, but still. I know you're taking good care of urself, so I won't say, "take care", but you know what I mean.
23rd June 2006

We join this show already in progress...
Hey Linds, I just tuned in...sounds like you're having quite the adventure! Glad the malaria has passed and hope that's the end of your maladies!
6th July 2006

Rowntree P.S cares about Lyndsey's quest
As of June 30, 2006, the staff and students at Rowntree P.S in Brampton, Ontario, Canada, raised over $2,500.00 for Future Island school. The school also sent many needed resources to make teaching effective. The fundraising has not stopped.... We'll continue in September 2006. The Mayor of Brampton, Ontario, Canada, Susan Fennell, congratulated the students, community and staff when they raised $1,500.00 in mid June. Mayor Fennell also contributed to the fundraising. The staff and students plan to continue their fundraising activities during the 2006-2007 school year. Thank you Lindsey for sharing your quest with us. We are a new school and our building cost in the millions. We want to share our enthusiasm with the children of Offinso by continuing our fundraising. If your reading this blog, then you care. Help fundraise. Together we can make a difference! Lots of love Lindsey, Kyra, staff, R.P.S. community and students

Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0643s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb