Take 3


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Greater Accra
June 18th 2010
Published: June 18th 2010
Edit Blog Post

This is my 3rd attempt in the past three hours of trying to write a blog post to you all. The first was too impersonal, the second too personal, hopefully with this third attempt I'll find the right balance.

There is so much to tell you all and I am well aware that writing this blog has become almost impossible for me because I have left it for so long, however I would like to say that there is no better place to decide not to be a slave to the internet than Africa. I have been on many a time but I get right ants and find myself closing closing windows just as quickly as I opened it. It's awesome.

Anywho, let me try and fill in as many blanks for you as possible...

Who: Me, haha! My living arrangements may seem a little bit complicated but I can assure you they are quite the norm for Ghanaians. I am living in a compound with my own room. To the right of me is a grandmother who takes care of her three grandsons and across the way is the headmaster of the of the JHS I teach at. It takes me thirty seconds to walk to my families house. My mothers name is Ruby. She is 31 and teaches English and RME (Religion and Moral Education) at the JHS. My fathers name is Jonathan and he is 32 and teaches Maths and P.E there too. If I am being perfgevctly honest this was my first challenge I faced in Ghana. I was definitely expecting to to be living in the same house with my family and have brothers and sisters a plenty. I expected to call my mother Mami and my father Papa. This is not happening because Ruby and Jonathan introduced themselves to me using their first names and it's just not the kind of relationship we've formed. There was and is absolutely nopthing wrong this except for the fact that i was not expecting it cula (pronounced claaaa, meaning at all). The more time I have spent here here the more I am discovering my purpose of being placed with them...tis the beauty of Intercordia. Then there's Buertey (Bwa-tey) he's the only other white person in my village and has been here for 2 years with the Peace Corps. His reall name is Kyle Knox (Buertey is his village name meaning first born son and everyone calls his that because Kyle is too hard to pronounce,) He is a wonderful person to confide in (although sometimes I fear I depend on him too muh instead of finding my own) and has been a wonderful teacher when it comes to the local language Dangme (Dong-meh). Then theres the 81 JHS students I am teaching. These kids/teens/young adults are my life at the moment. I don't think they truly understand how much I have begun to care about them. i stay all day at school (which is a big deal, for most teachers come and go as they please) just so I can be with them. I fell motherly towards them for many a reason I will not disclose at the moment... I will finish by saying that I have no idea how I will leave them at the end of my three months. I'm not one for good byes, I've never really believed in them, when you are from a entirely different continent however...

What? am I eating? Fufu (foo-foo), Banku (Bahn-ku), Kenkey (Kehn-kay), Jolof (Jo-loff), and Watche (Watch-eh). With fufu, banku and kenkey thinks balls of carbs/starch. They are all based with different vegetables: casava, maise (corn) and coco yam and pounded cooked or stirred slightly differently. They are all accompanied with the same couple of things, light soup, groundnut soup, palmnut soup, ochre soup, grounded pepper(pep-eh), or pepper stew which is all based withe pepper, garlic, and onion. I'm liking the food but physically its taken a little bit of a toll and has been a tad bit difficult getting use to a big serving of carbs, a big serving of pepper, a small serving of protein and essentially no veggies. That being said I wouldnt change anything and things have recently takena turn for the better (if you know what I mean), so its all good. What am I drinking? Water from a mini sip bag and the occasioanl fanta or coke. What am I teaching? Maths (even though its not my best subject) and RME. What's my day like? I wake up at 5, shower from a bucket, go ea breaky, go to school, maybe come home and sweep, chill with the kids in my compund, wash, or fetch water or help make supper, have another shower, then im in bed by 7:30.

Where? The village I have been placed in is called Addokope (Add-oh-koh0pey) It is located along the main highway going to Accra and in the greater Accra region. It's a ten minute drive, 30 minute walk away from Kasseh Junction where I use the internet, by phone credit, fabric and food, etc. Its about 20 mintes away from the beach...

I have to go folks, that it all for now but I will try and fill in the rest on tuesday!

Thank you for all the prayers and support, I promise to do better when it comes to this. Sorry about the bad english and if things were scatterbrained!

I love you all and take some time to enjoy theses songs while I cannot...

How he loves us- kim walker
always- switchfoot
a million dollars- joel plaskett
heart of life- john mayer
say hey, i love you- michael franti
at the beach- avett brothers

much love,
buernorkie.
(bwen-oh-key) my village name, the chief gave me because i resemble his daughter, mening first born daughter)

Advertisement



18th June 2010

love you, mean it
This is wonderful monster!!! It is so good to get an update about your life and to hear that you are doing good. It sounds like you have really been emersed into a new world and I can't wait to see pictures and hear your wonderful stories when you get home. I listen to almost all of those songs often and I think of you always! miss and love you!!! Love Faye xoxo
18th June 2010

I LOVED your Ghana post, and didn't think it was too impersonal, or too personal :) Sounds like you're having an incredible experience there. I've heard great things about Ghana but have yet to go there myself. My blog is looking for travel reviews, photos, etc, to share (if there are any foods in particular you've discovered, we feature those as well!). If you have the time, check it out at dirty-hippies.blogspot.com, or email me at dirtyhippiesblog@gmail.com. Continued fun on your travels! Heather :)
18th June 2010

So proud of you! It sounds as though you are doing wonderful things, and I can't wait to hear more details when you get home (don't think I won't pry them out of you lol). It sounds as though you've become a part of their lives as much as they've become a part of yours. I know it will be very difficult for you to leave, but your family on this side of the planet will be very happy to see you again. Love, Mom and Dad :P
19th June 2010

Adventure
Glad to hear from you Kate and learn more about your excellent adventure. I'm excited that you like teaching so much. Could that be a career idea for you? 2009 summer on PEI: 2010 summer in Addokope, where will you be in summer 2011? Hugs, Aunt Earlene
23rd June 2010

:)
Kate Price! First of all, I've so enjoyed following your travels and your wonderful thoughts up until now! It sounds as though you've truly taken to heart what exactly this program is all about and that is marvelous love. This may not make sense, but you (and people like you) truly inspire me. In each of these posts you put yourself and your ideas out there and the conviction behind them: you allow yourself to be, in other words. (Just like M. Vanier's hope for this program...and well, for humanity I guess.) Lastly my dear Kate Price, you are a beautiful writer and never let yourself think otherwise. I only wish I could be in Fredericton this fall to talk for hours on end with you about this experience, but I will be away on my own journey next year. PS...I just listened to a little JP a while ago, it made me miss you immensely.

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0387s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb