Gone to Ghana: My African Adventures


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Greater Accra » Teshie
December 19th 2014
Published: December 19th 2014
Edit Blog Post

December 19, 2014



This week has been busy. We’re getting ready for the holidays, so we have a lot of cooking and preparations to do. Wednesday and Thursday we made rice and chicken for the children at the Fishing Village and the orphanage. The children loved the food! It’s always great to hear the kids come up and say my belly’s so full. Princess annihilated her chicken and rice, came up to me, and said “Auntie Laurel look at my fat belly.” Our big Christmas project is going to be in the Eastern Region where Dream Africa has a school and clinic. We’re preparing to serve food for over 2,000 people. Next week we’ll be incredibly busy.



With Christmas coming up everyone in the house has been waiting for and opening up their Christmas packages from home. It’s been interesting to see what people have been asking to be sent from home. I’ve tried treats from Germany, Holland, and Denmark. Today I finally received mine. I was so happy to see goodies from home. I have the best parents in the world. Starbucks Via and good chocolate ….. coffee and chocolate the necessities of life. I was nice and shared some of the See’s chocolate. The funny thing about the Lindt chocolate bar is that the cacao was grown in Ghana, which was exported to Switzerland to be made into chocolate, which was then exported to the US to be sold, which was bought by my mom, who sent it back to Ghana.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.124s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0639s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb