Gone to Ghana: My African Adventures


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Greater Accra » Teshie
August 26th 2014
Published: August 26th 2014
Edit Blog Post

August 25, 2014



I spent an interesting afternoon at the orphanage. When I got there I found most of the children behind the orphanage cracking palm nuts. I found out that they have two different uses for them. The first is cooking them to make palm nut soup and the second is to get the oil to add to salve which they use after they bathe. I then asked if I could help them with the nuts. I stayed outside with them for about an hour and a half crack and shelling palm nuts. Of course my little Ema wouldn’t leave my side and eventually fell asleep on my lap while I was working. It felt like a very African experience. When I brought the big basket inside with the harvested palm nuts on my head. Okay, I was still holding it with my hands, but it’s a start. I want to learn how to carry stuff on my head and a baby on my back like a real African woman. Both Mavis and Auntie Bless at the orphanage said they’d teach me.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0318s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb