Gone to Ghana: My African Adventures


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Greater Accra » Teshie
June 11th 2014
Published: June 11th 2014
Edit Blog Post

June 11, 2014



I haven’t had my orientation yet, but I have been to some classes. Yesterday I went to one of the schools (Faith) and the fishing village project. Today I went to the new orphanage. The children are so warm and friendly. I have never had so many people fascinated with my hair and skin before. I haven’t taken pictures yet but I will.



Faith is a very rustic school. The school is so basically built that the classrooms are almost like big barn stalls with benches and desks. The fishing village is really cool. It’s a school set up in an alley right by the ocean for any of the children who wants to go to class. It starts at 4:30 P.M. and goes till dark, which is just after 6 P.M. in Ghana. I helped out with the KG (kindergarten) class. It was interesting teaching a class with the ocean behind me while pigs, chickens, and goats rummaged through the trash heap.



There is trash everywhere here. Animals, especially chickens, run all over the place. The heat is oppressive. I’m still trying to get used to it. The oddest thing is I’ve found that the heat has really suppressed my appetite. Between that and walking everywhere I should lose some weight here. Although, Jamal barbecued dinner for us tonight and it was after dark with the refreshing breeze after the rain, which made it easier to eat. Therefore, I’m not sure how that theory will hold throughout my time here.



Tonight I was telling Jamal about how strange it is for me that in June there’s only 12 hours of daylight. I explained how in the Pacific Northwest the sun doesn’t set till about 10 P.M. in the summer, and he said that the sun being out after 6 would be weird for him. Although, come winter time, or winter for you back in the higher latitudes, it will be nice having more daylight hours. Jamal is very cool and he even lives in the volunteer house, so I should get to know him fairly well during my time here. He’s only a couple of years older than me, and is actually closer to my age than most of the volunteers.

Advertisement



12th June 2014

We have met at Vedders because I am Karen's daughter. I think you know Julie too. Do you still do crafts? Have a great experience in Ghana. Elaine
Now I will know about Ghana and travel vicariously with you. E.
13th June 2014

interesting blogs!
Hi Laurel, It sounds like things are off to a good start and you are making the most of any difficult situations. I am looking forward to reading your blogs. (I have dreamed of going to Africa since I was a child.)
13th June 2014

Love picturing you in Ghana
Hi Laurel, Love the descriptions, I can picture you and your surroundings. Looking forward to pictures and hearing about the kids. Love, Liz

Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0509s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb