A day of school, orphanage, and clumsiness


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Greater Accra » Teshie
July 31st 2013
Published: July 31st 2013
Edit Blog Post

This morning I got up a bit late, as I woke up in the night and couldn't get back to sleep. It was too hot, I was itching too much from mosquito bites, and Bobby was barking. I only found out in the morning WHY he was barking - because Peace had come home! He was missing for 4 days in total, and in that time we got the new puppy!



I still made it to school in time though, and the students for once were fairly well behaved! The rest of the school's exam papers were ready so they started exams, but my class' papers weren't ready, so we had a normal morning. I find it strange here that there seems to be no structure to the lessons. The kids just sit around, annoying each other, whilst the teacher does whatever. And then when she's ready she'll teach. Today the teacher went to do something else, so I taught some basic alphabet stuff, and the letters, plus short words. Then we did recognition of numbers. I made a big deal of it when Alfred got one right, as he gets everything wrong usually. The worst thing is that when a child doesn't know an answer, the teacher will say "Shame on you!" and the class shout out "Shame!". She also tells the class that they are stubborn, stupid or lazy.



I left the school at first break today, with the intention of going to church. But I felt exhausted, as I didn't sleep well last night. So I just stayed at home. I guess I should have gone to church, as I wanted to take photos of a lizard on the top of the wall, so I stood on the white stool and happily took snaps, until the chair just fell in under me. I fell straight through the middle, and it was made of plastic, so my left leg got all cut up as the plastic was all jagged where it broke. Shauna couldn't stop laughing as I was just standing in the middle of the chair, with the remains of it around me! WhenI stepped out of it, I saw that blood was pouring own my leg! Mavis was concerned, but it didn't bother me that much. I think the deepest cut will scar, but at least every time I look at it, I'll be reminded of Ghana 😊



Another funny moment this afternoon was that the new puppy, Kalimotxo (I am now spelling it the correct way, it's a Basque word from Spain) wouldn't leave Freya alone and kept humping her leg, Shauna and I sat there killing ourselves laughing and taking photos. We also washed Kali today in a bucket, don't think he liked it too much!



At 4pm, I went to the orphanage. The kids were all exhausted when we got there, and I picked up Junior, who just wanted to sleep on me. Florence had picked me up a hairnet I wanted, when she was up at the hospital with Blessing today. We didn't stay too long, but just hung out with the little kids for a bit (the older ones were at church). Before we went, they got us to try tz (pronounced teezy) which was like a slimy mashed potato. It was in a kind of sauce, next to what looked like a vine leaf. All nice and vegetarian, I thought, until I found out that the "Vine leaf" was actually cow's intestines - yuck! Glad I didn't try that bit of it, though I am not pleased that my tz had touched the nasty stuff!



The water has run out again, so we're back to bucket showers. Earlier, there wasn't any water for flushing the toilet or washing hands, which sucked. Seems to be working again now, although still none for showers.



This evening, I apologised to Jamal for breaking his chair. He said it did not matter, and that HE was sorry (I think because his chair hurt me!). I found out from Mavis earlier that if somebody is hurt, if something is broken in the process, that it doesn't matter about the item anymore. I kind of like that notion. I already broke the mirror earlier this week! I seem to be just trashing the place.....!



I'm just chilling on the patio now with Robbie, Peter, Steffi and Laura. Steffi and I are practising our Spanish on Laura 😊 So far, we seem to be doing ok.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.15s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0877s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb