Last entry


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Greater Accra » Legon
December 16th 2008
Published: December 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This has been quite the adventure and this entry is just going to go over some of the things that I will miss about being in Ghana, some things I’ve learned, and some things I have come to appreciate about my own home country. I will not make this too long because there is so much that I have come to learn, but I would like to highlight some things. I’m sure I will realize even more when I return to the states.

I realized a few weeks ago while I was on a tro-tro that I really do know the system here… well, I can manage on my own. I can get my own tro-tros and I know how much the mate (the guy that hangs out the window of the vehicle and shouts where they are going and takes your money) should be charging me. I also realized that while there is an organized chaotic traffic system, I still do not think I could EVER drive in this country. I will miss being able to buy the most random things while stuck in traffic, which include, but are not limited to: puppies (not kidding), nutella (which I haven’t seen more so recently, I really think these people that were selling it must have gotten it some illegal way because it was really cheap), tissues, apples, pure water (that’s what they call the sachets of water they sell), newspapers, chocolate, leashes, bread, plantain chips, gum, mentos, cough drops (which Ghanaians eat as candy… and it’s not the good ones like the halls fruit breezers, they are gross man, I don’t get it), earrings, necklaces, children’s books, soccer balls, papaya, fan ice (vanilla ice cream in a bag), fan choco (frozen chocolate milk in a bag), fan yogo (frozen strawberry yogurt in a bag), tampico (sunny-d), phone cards.

I will miss my kids that I have been teaching at a school I volunteered at. It really highlighted how unfair poverty is. It was heart breaking to know that some of these kids, who were so bright, probably won’t have a chance to go any further because of the system they were born in. I cannot express how much I appreciate the education I received in the states, we really are fortunate.

I will miss how friendly people are. In the beginning, I couldn’t see why everyone kept saying that Ghana was a nation of friendly people, but now I see. People go out of their way to help. Many times, MANY times when I had no idea where I was going, there was always someone to help. I will miss greeting everyone and being asked how I’m doing, let’s face it- we don’t do that in the states. If I went up to a cashier and greeted them, it would be weird.

I will not miss being singled out everywhere I go. I will not miss being called oboruni. I will not miss being hit at least 3 times a day. I thought it would be cool to get a marriage proposal, but after so many, it gets old and you start to get the feeling that maybe these men are after something else… like US citizenship.

I will not miss how long it takes to do ANYTHING here. I will not miss being told that my readings are ‘finished’ (meaning, they are out of readings). Actually, I won’t miss hearing that anything is finished. One day, I was told that the chicken was finished. If I haven’t stressed enough of what a typical Ghanaian meal consists of, let me refresh your memories… chicken and rice, well maybe that’s unfair, there are a few other dishes, but there is a lot of chicken here. Now tell me, how can the chicken be finished when that is a main staple?

I wish I had learned more of the Twi language. Unfortunately, whenever I try to speak more than ‘how are you?’ and ‘where are you from?’ or very simple phrases my brain switches to Spanish mode and any word I don’t know in Twi I replace with Spanish because that’s the same, right?

What I have learned is the difference between a western culture and one that is not. As westerners, we are very individualistic, right down to not being physically close to one another (that especially holds true for me). In this culture, it is very communal. Everything is shared and as for personal space, I’m pretty sure that doesn’t exist. You notice it from men holding hands down the street- yes, straight men hold hands sometimes (homosexuality is actually illegal here)- to being packed into a tro-tro like sardines.

My patience has grown so much, it’s amazing.

I’ve come to appreciate my family. Ok, it’s not like I didn’t appreciate them at all, I guess I should say I have realized that they mean a lot more than I have ever wanted to admit. When I was asked before I left if I would miss my family, I didn’t think I would that much. I was wrong. I am grateful for how supportive everyone has been. It means a lot.

After living here and seeing how a developing country is, you do see the things that we take for granted for in America. How about the garbage systems? Here, there are very, very few trashcans anywhere which means that a lot of people just throw trash on the ground. There is trash from soccer fields to the oceans. It is sick.

Having a functioning legal system with those that are there to protect and serve is also taken for granted. Here, while I’m sure the police do make some efforts in upholding the laws, they can be bribed. It is hard to look at a figure that is supposed to be of authority when you know that they can easily be bought. Corruption is easy to come by in any nation, but it is especially easy here. For example: I had to bribe the people that worked at immigration in the airport (7 cedis... like 7 USD) to let me leave the country because of an expired visa by 2 days. I let the visa expire because at immigration when I went to extend it, they told me that there is a 7 day grace period for which I would not be penalized for. I am glad that we have systems in America which try to protect this corruption from happening because without which, how are we supposed to look to those in authority with respect?

I just wanted to write this last entry I guess to sum up my experience. I returned to Richmond Sunday. It is a very surreal feeling to be back right now. I'm sure in time I will adjust.

Thanks to all of you who have kept up with this blog. It means a lot that there were so many people that were supporting me.

Until my next adventure... See ya later!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0716s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb