Getting Used to Things


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Greater Accra » Legon
February 17th 2008
Published: February 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I'm slowly but surely starting to get the hang of things. Knowing the lay of the land is one thing, finding the essentials like food, water, toilet paper, laundry soap is another. I found out today that absolutely nothing but the internet cafe is open. Therefore you must make sure that you buy food on Saturday so that you can actually eat on Sunday. Church rules this country. People are up at 6am and are in church until noon, I don't know how they do it.
The weather is becoming easier to bare. It starts off muggy in the mornings, gets extremely hot and humid at midday and then cools down during the late afternoon and night. I'm fortunate that I haven't run into any big problems with bugs, but I'm not holding my breath. The lizzards seem to be quite friendly as well, a small gecko felt quite at ease sitting on my lap yesterday!
I'm also starting to get the hang of the food situation as well. Right outside my house is a street full of vendors and food stops. I usually have bread and Nutella along with Milo (a chocolate powder) mixed with Nido (powdered milk) in the
My Roommate in the Hotel RoomMy Roommate in the Hotel RoomMy Roommate in the Hotel Room

Rachel from New Jersey
morning. Fruit is also readily available for anytime of day. Lunch usually consists of rice and chicken, or peanut stew and fufu (mashed up yam and casava plant). For dinner it seems that Jolaf (rice and beans) or egg sandwiches are becoming my favorites. The women make bread fresh every day and the fruit is my sugar savior. I'm also drinking my fair share of Fanta and Coke (in the glass bottles mind you).
Classes will be starting tomorrow. I'm going to have to go quite early to find my lecture room in the maze of the campus which means a wake up time of 6am...and the professor probably won't even show up. But hopefully soon, things will start to become more solidified.
Last night, our CIEE group was treated to a very nice dinner and the entertainment of a traditional dance group. They were absolutely amazing!! The drummers were so talented, you could barely see their hand moving because of the speed of their drumming. And the dancers were unbelievably fit. They danced for over an hour, always at a fast pace...and when I say fast, I mean lightening speed. No one could believe that they could last that long in the heat, but it was well worth it. After last night, many of the students are excited to sign up to take traditional dance classes at the University. I myself am not going to indulge due to lack of time, however it's probably for the best. I would be that awkward abroni (the Twi word for "light skinned person" that everyone calls us here) in the back of the room throwing everyone else off.
That's all to report for now!


Additional photos below
Photos: 33, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

My Roommate in the CIEE houseMy Roommate in the CIEE house
My Roommate in the CIEE house

Rachel from American University in D.C.
Part of our bathroom in the housePart of our bathroom in the house
Part of our bathroom in the house

I share it with 3 other girls
Our kitchen in the houseOur kitchen in the house
Our kitchen in the house

Yes...it's infested with ants
More of the kitchenMore of the kitchen
More of the kitchen

we have two fridges but one doesn't work at the moment, and the one that does insists on always leaking water
Our living room in the houseOur living room in the house
Our living room in the house

This is where we spend most of our time having fun conversations and just hanging out
Our porchOur porch
Our porch

This is a very nice place to sit and hang out in the afternoon when it's hot...we have lots of fun and relaxing times out here
Our porchOur porch
Our porch

Jordan and Pete hanging out on the porch
The inside of our main gateThe inside of our main gate
The inside of our main gate

Daniel is our day gate keeper and George is our night day keeper, they're very nice and patient with us.
Lizzy, Amy, and Maggie at the CIEE dinnerLizzy, Amy, and Maggie at the CIEE dinner
Lizzy, Amy, and Maggie at the CIEE dinner

Maggie is doing her best Zoolander impression
Tony and I are BIG fans of FantaTony and I are BIG fans of Fanta
Tony and I are BIG fans of Fanta

I'm partial to Orange while he's in love with Lemon flavor


18th February 2008

Nice going sweetie,
I almost wished I could be with you. However, I am not in favor of leaking refigs. or toilets. Keep us posted, stay safe and I love you. Oh, the pictures are great.

Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0492s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb