Orrientation


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Greater Accra » Accra
October 12th 2006
Published: October 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I arrived in Accra on Sunday and have spend the last few days doing an orrientation here with other volunteers. The heat is incredible and will take some getting used but when I think of the gray miserables days and rain at home I think somehow I will manage! The people here are so friendly and eager to help in any way and I've learnt my African name (Ekwea) because I was born on a Wednesday.

The markets are amazing and so busy. People in every direction continally want your attention and to shake your hand. There are children sleeping under tables and strapped to their mothers backs.

I had an African drumming and dancing lesson on Tuesday. We learned the Fume Fume but somehow don't think we were going to win any prizes for our interpretation. We have also practiced Ghanian cooking and the yams and rice especially were really nice. They cook with so much oil here and half a normal size bottle went in to cook the vegtables. Our fish was good as as we were beginners not too much spices went in so we could actually eat it. I'm sure we will get used to it in time though.

I'm leaving Accra tomorrow and going to meet my host family.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

footballfootball
football

(for Tim\'s benefit!)


13th October 2006

Looks like fun
It really looks like you are having a really good time and everyone looks chilled, im so jealous
2nd December 2006

I know some of the places you mentioned. Your pictures make me wanting to travel. I have moved in the opposite direction, I live in UK now. Have a wonderful time.

Tot: 0.211s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 13; qc: 72; dbt: 0.1242s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb