Auntie Laura to Akosua


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Greater Accra » Accra
September 12th 2006
Published: September 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Sorry no pictures again today, hopefully osofo will be taking conny and I in the next few days to go to a place that takes pictures from our memory cards and puts them onto cd's, because the cafe near our house has CD drives, so that I can show you beautiful Ghana!

On Friday reverend returned from his 3 day trip to Togo and officially gave conny and I our African names. i am now Akosua (female sunday born) and Conny is Amivi (female saturday born). I'm picking up bits and pieces of both of the local languages here. Maydasi is thank you in Twi where Akpe is thank you in Ewe. Soon conny, osofo, and I are going to be posting notes around the house that has English, German, Ewe and Twi words and phrases, so that we can all learn a little of everything.

On saturday Pheobe took us to La Palm Royale Beach. Its a beautiful beach, even though there is random litter, the waves are big and water was warm. There was so much to see, do and buy. People were coming up to us all the time trying to sell us their beads, artwork, or really anything you can think of, or even just to talk. I made a friend, an artist, Regal, I bought his most beautiful colorful painting he only asked 40,000 cedi wich is about 5 USD, if that, we also played several games of Mancala, a game I haven't played in a couple of years, but it came back to me quickly. They were also offering horse rides down the beach. There were dancers, I met a few Rastafarians playing drums and a guitar.

Here everyone wants to make friends, The young children yell Obrouni, Obrouni just so that you will turn to say hi to them, their smiles are so big just because of it. Older teens, and adults introduce themselves just so that they can come to stop by to say Hi, how are you, and ask where you are from. Everyone is so kind here and don't ask much of you, just respect and conversation.

Osofo and Ademolah are teaching Amivi and I how to play the African drum beats. I'm getting it pretty well! so I'll make sure to bring home some drums to show you how much i rock. Osofo says that people will pay us lots of money when we get home to play in there bands because we will bring the Best sound, african beats from Ghana!...haha

On sunday we went to church to watch Reverend (osofo) preach. Although I have a difficult time understanding what they are saying because they yell into the microphones that are already blasting and talk over each other in different languages they also switch the language their taking in for that matter to, the only thing I can really understand are Amens and Hallelujahs. So I just listen to the music and practice my african drum beat on my thighs. Their music consists of a drum kit, electric guitar, African drums of course and a keyboard. Although I'm not much for religion, there is so much energy in their churches and you can't help but dance.

Yesterday was my first day of teaching in the nursery. The childrens ages range from as young as about 2 1/2 or 3 I'd say to no older than about 5 1/2. They start their morning off with getting into lines and singing different songs. I recognized a few like itsy bitsy spider, and of course head, shoulders, knees and toes. They are asked to stand at attention, at ease and to excersize their arms. They do alot of clapping to beats, and march off to their classrooms. The school is one of the more beautiful structures, its very colorful with animals, numbers, and letters covering the walls. Its been running for about 8 years and is run by Grandma and Grandpa (as i, and everyone else knows them as) they are very, very, generous people. I'm shadowing/ teaching with Miss Sara with a class of about 15 - 20 kids. We went over basic things like sounds of the alphabet, recognizing the letters; counting, recognizing and writing numbers 1 - 30. Also two letter combination words - - it, on, so (they say the word lo though to, I haven't asked what thats about, but i'll get to it eventually probably) go, no, ect.....
They are all served lunch together, and they even give me a plate with their DELICIOUS juicy orange slices. All the oranges here are the best i have ever eaten. After their lunch, they clear the classroom floors and lay out mats to "sleep", the kids "sleep" for 1 1/2. I can read my book or write during that time, really whatever I want. Its peaceful.

Yesterday was also the day that conny and I first experienced the intense sun and heat. Because its winter here it has been raining in the mornings and afternoons, but its basically like typical Rochester Spring, very comfortable. Still humid, but atleast its liveable, Yesterday was the begining of my tan, i really haven't had to wear much sunscreen until yesterday I lathered it on especially when I got home from school which is probably about 2...I haven't really been paying attention to the time here. I just get up at 6 to take a nice refreshing "shower" from a bucket, get served breakfast and walk with Ademolah and Shade to school when they're ready.

Today I was greatly encouraged to beat the children so that they will resepect me. Its something that I'm not sure I want to resort to as of yet, but again I'm not teaching on my own...yet. Osofo says maybe by next week. We'll see when it comes though. Today I also have slight Quasimoto syndrom going on with my right eye. Practically first thing when I was left with the kids for the second time in the morning by myself I decided to play "head shoulders knees and toes" so that they wouldn't talk (sara asked me to do something with them). I managed to contact my brow with the top of a very, very hard headed boy. I didn't think it was that hard, but then it just started to swell up faster than blowing up a balloon. I didn't see it, but I knew I needed to get something on it fast, I found another teacher who was so sympathetic ...they say "sorry, sorry" and are so genuine about it. They were worried about me all day and made me lay on the couch in Grandma and Grandpas Quarters with ice wrapped in cotton. Twice. So today i didn't do much for the first half of the day. They really wanted me to see the doctor, but when sara had walked meover there after Grandma gave me the ice for the first time and some advil, he wasn't in. Its really only a bump, that needed the ice for the swelling. Its still a little swollen, but they were very worried.

I was told today by Osofomami (mattah/host mom) that many people enjoy my laughter and smile. it so very flattering, because its so hard not to enjoy everything and all the people around me. I really love the Ghanian people, even though they have so little, they love to give and share "you are invited" or "you are welcome" they'll say when they want you to eat with them, or when you come home. They always want you to eat with them.

On a side note Conny aka Amivi is also keeping a travel blog...I'm pretty sure its in German, but she said she plans on translating it.
www.conny-unterwegs.de.vu -- we also managed to get her travel adaptor working so that we can charge everything electric we have, even my ipod. :-)

I miss you all! I'll try to get pictures up as soon as I can, I'm eager to show you.

Mekpo Eso -- we'll see tomorrow (in Ewe)
the kp sound is supposed to be said together, its difficult and I get many laughs but I'm working on it.

Advertisement



12th September 2006

It sounds like you are in good hands. You are in my thoughts and look foward to your seeing your pictures. I miss you so very much and I am happy that you are enjoying your stay. Eric and Jessica are going to be thrilled to read your blog. Lots of Love, Mom
18th September 2006

lauraa!
hey whats going on ? hows ghana 8] i hope your having fun thats gotta be so different of a world over there. i love your pictures you should try to get some more beach pictures i wana paint one but im not sure what i wana do it of yet so keep me posted , love , Eric

Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0354s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb