Roller Coaster Ride


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Greater Accra » Accra
January 12th 2013
Published: January 12th 2013
Edit Blog Post

And the Adventure Begins!

So from the start, even before I left my house to board the plane that would take me half way to my final destination, I was on a roller coaster ride. One of those crazy rides that make you want to have the insane adrenaline rush but also puke just by the mere thought of getting in the line. And it’s funny, odd actually for me to even be feeling the butterflies frantically trying to escape my body; I have never experienced such a wave of emotions until now.

My parents stayed with me until the very latest that they could. I know, they’re crazy, for waiting the entire hour that it took for me to get through checking in and security…airports; I’ve been through enough of them to be sick of them that’s for sure. Anyways, once I waved my tenth farewell to my mom and dad I was on my own, just trying to gain a grip on what was actually happening in my life.

Of course I was drawn into the world of the internet as I felt lonely, the one thing that I have been telling myself that I will disconnect from once in Ghana, a disconnection from the world. And by thinking about it, it could be exactly that, the thing that scares me the most about finally going into a country without truly knowing someone else for such a long extended period amount of time. So many questions and possibilities of the close future race through my mind making me hit turbulence.

Well…the plane did physically hit turbulence numerous of times. Once through the flight I actually woke up from my 5 minute nap to the person sitting next to me freaking out. It was fun, the one flight that I told myself I would be sleeping on…and I just got 30 minutes of rest, maximum. Yet, life goes on, and I have to stay alert to make sure that I don’t miss anything else exciting.

For example, first exciting news of my journey thus far is that I got an upgraded seat assignment. WOOT!! I became probably the happiest person in this entire airport just because of that. I know, it happens to so many these days, but it has never happened for me until this day, so I’m excited to check out this new seat assignment (even if it ends up being the exact same seat and just closer to the exit?).

Once I got through the second “TSA” security check in London, that is after I poured out my entire airport water fountain filled water bottle from home out in the trash can… Yes, I’m aware, not the best move but there was no other option, I swear! I found the prime people watching spot of all time; the second floor overlooking the first. The only problem that I ran into during this observation period was the people that surrounded me within an inch radius, as I sit on this very seat. As many people know, I adore children…but children at airports…that’s another story, especially on the plane! I have never heard or seen so many children cry, complain, or even face-plant on the marble looking floor; and unfortunately, I can’t stand it.

The only good that comes from these incidents is that I am now so ready to get on another plane and leave this ridiculous bench surrounded by children who are currently trying to climb over me… I am confused that’s for sure. I think I have finally hit the end of the roller coaster ride, where I have no idea why I did what I did, but it happened and the after effects are bound to be greater because I’m getting on the next roller coaster I see!

And now, after a fantastic 7 hour plane ride in business class (thank you British Airways) I am safely sitting in a hotel in Ghana, not sure what to expect next. Anticipation is killing me as I wake up in 6 hours. With that said, word for the wise as I was reminded today, "Tesa: calm yourself".

Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0314s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb