Pandemonium:)


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Greater Accra » Accra
June 23rd 2006
Published: June 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Labadi BeachLabadi BeachLabadi Beach

One of the many beaches in the area...it's beautiful, even though it's not somewhere you'd go to relax (notice that no one lies on the beach--it is usually used as a place to practice soccer it seems and tourists get hounded there to buy everything! It was fun to check it out!
Hello, friends! Hope you are all well! I decided to post lots of pics today...since pictures describe better than words ever will😊 First thing first, the soccer game between the U.S and Ghana...oh my gosh, the whole country went into an uproar after they won (see pictures below)! I was glad to see Ghana win because their excitement and jubilation is amazing to witness...this is the first time Ghana has made the World Cup so it's huge here! I have never seen an entire country shut down to support a team like they did...everyone was sooo excited and it was hilarious watching the game with people---I have never seen soo much dancing, hugging, singing, shouting, jumping in my life!! I got off the tro-tro right after the game finished...just in time for everyone to surround me and all in good fun shout, "American" at me and then hug me as I smiled and shouted, "Go, Ghana!" ha--it was hilarious to say the least!😊
Besides the many laughs regarding "futbol" or soccer, things are going very well! I will write more about the clinic I'm working at soon...they recently were given enough money to send 5 children to school...besides being
BeachBeachBeach

Okay, the beach again...hey, you didn't think I'd come all the way to Africa and not go the beach, did you?;-) It's something an Iowa girl doesn't get to see too often;-) Plus, it was fun teaching my Ghanaian friend Kwesi how to use a digital camera---let's just say the majority of shots had me almost upside down or included a huge finger blocking everything;-) He had so much fun taking pictures of everything (thank goodness for the delete button--haha:)
an AIDS clinic, they also try to help children get off the street and into school...one of the little girls was crying when she found out she was chosen to receive this donation. I couldn't help but think of the irony---since I remember crying that I had to go to school! That is one of the saddest things here....everyday I am surrounded by child labor on the streets, the trotros, etc. due to the fact that their families cannot afford the $20 to send their children to school for the year. Most of these children are girls, but many are boys as well. They have soo much potential---oh my gosh, they are the cutest kids I've ever seen---and yet, it is sooo difficult to break out of the poverty in which they are immersed. Despite this, they have a hope, persistence, and strength that I have never seen before. They are some of the most easy going people I've ever meant....no need to complain about the lack of running water or the incredible heat (that has caused me to no longer fit into any of my pants--ha! Don't worry, I am just starting to eat lots more😊
Anyways, overall
Minutes after the winMinutes after the winMinutes after the win

Can I say PANDEMONIUM??? :) :)
the people here are amazing and I am learning more everyday. Thank you so much for your well-wishes and news from back home! Even if I can't find time to respond, I always love to hear from the news!!😊
Sending lots of love,
Katie 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Pure Jubilation!Pure Jubilation!
Pure Jubilation!

Yep, this is the main street near where I live just minutes after the game ended...obviously traffic stopped completely! Everyone is climbing aboard a huge truck, which you cannot even see since there are soo many people!
This dude knows how to celebrate:)This dude knows how to celebrate:)
This dude knows how to celebrate:)

Let's just say the usual garb on game- day was the Ghanaian flag and after the big win, the festivities included lots of music and dancing on the streets:)
Minutes after the winMinutes after the win
Minutes after the win

There were massive groups of people running everywhere!! Everything stopped after the game (about 3:00 pm)...something tells me this wouldn't happen in America;-) I do wish, however, that the Ghanaian garbage collectors were as excited about picking up garbage (notice the dumpster to the left) as they were about the game, but there's only time to do so much, right?;-)
My friends:)My friends:)
My friends:)

Okay, this is a random pic, but I couldn't resist since there are lizards here EVERYWHERE!! At night I can hear them skirt across the roof...they are no bother, kinda cute really;-)


23rd June 2006

Hi!
Hi Katie! These updates are great - it's amazing to see how excited everyone got when Ghana won ... we certainly don't have that kind of team spirit around here. :-) Good to hear everything is going well. Keep the pictures coming!! -Joe
24th June 2006

*
The pictures of the celebration are great!
25th June 2006

This web page is awesome
This web page is a window into your life. Its very cool. I enjoyed reading your journal entry. I think the picture of the lizard is awesome. I am glad you put it in there. Look forward to reading more about Ghana and your experiances.
26th June 2006

AMAZING
Katie: You are an exceptional girl! Who would agree to spend their "beach vacation" in Ghana but you. I did watch the World Cup Soccer game with friends who are Mexican in Spanish and thought of you when Ghana won. They were impressed I knew about Ghana. I, of course, cited you as my reference. "My friend Katie is doing a practicum there." We are getting ready for JCAHO (our accrediting body) at the hospital these next two weeks so I'm working a bit more than usual. I'm also requesting an SPM from SFXCC with Angie Doerr as my supervisor. Say a prayer she'll agree. Thanks for keeping us updated. Be very careful of lizards, Katie. Cute, but friendly? Donna
26th June 2006

Hi Katie O!:)
Katie - You are amazing and it's neat to see photos and read updates! I hope to see you soon after you return! Love, Jessica
27th June 2006

I love the pics and posts! Same old stuff here in STL. I saw Keneth Montgomery on his bike today. he was cheerful (as always) and sent me a big wave and smile. Love ya and miss ya! - Clarissa ;)
27th June 2006

i miss you
OB...I love your updates and it is so great to hear all the amazing things you are experiencing. I can't wait to hear more. I'm putting a letter in the mail for you soon (if I can find your address:) I miss you and am so glad to hear you are well. St. Lou is boring without you! Love you lots! P.S. I was rooting for Ghana!
1st July 2006

great insight
Hi, Came across your blog reseaching Ghana. I am heading there in July ( Abor - orphanage) for 3 months. Your entries provide a great insight - I am so excited. I wish you well. Jacqui

Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0616s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb