So I started a blog


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Greater Accra » Accra
January 28th 2011
Published: January 28th 2011
Edit Blog Post

DSCF0010DSCF0010DSCF0010

The street where I live
OK, so it’s taken me quite a long time to start my blog. There are a few reasons. Firstly, the functioning of my internet connection leaves room for improvement, meaning that the few times I felt inspired to start writing I was unable to do so. Secondly, I find it very difficult to come up with anything to write. I think it is because this place is just so different from anywhere I’ve been to. It is not really possible to describe it. For the first time in my life I really feel like I’m abroad.

It is a strange experience being a white man in Ghana. Ghanaians are incredibly friendly and can make one feel very welcome. However, it takes time to get used to all the attention. All the children shout ‘obruni’ (‘white man’) at me. They wave at me and they stare. Some even run to touch me – just to see if I’m real, I suppose. People my age often come to talk to me. They are really friendly, calling me brother, yesterday someone even referred to me as homeboy. It must have been the first time. At first I was somewhat suspicious towards everyone approaching
DSCF0028DSCF0028DSCF0028

I bought some groundnut soup here. There was some bush meat in it. It was pretty bad.
me, but I quickly realised there was no need to. It is just really difficult for me to comprehend that people I’ve never met want to talk to me without wanting anything from me. There are of course exceptions, and for example the street vendors at some more touristy areas can get very pushy. However, I find it easy to get rid of them by saying that I’ll be back in an hour, I’m on my way to a meeting or something.

I am staying in a hostel in the suburb of Darkuman. The area is mostly consisting of one storey buildings, and from the hostel roof one has a nice view over the area. My room provides me with a desk, cold shower, and a fridge. There is no A/C, and even with the fan on I am finding it hard to sleep because of the heat. Another problem is the close proximity of a night club that keeps playing music until late. In the morning, it gets pretty loud around 7am when people start working.

At the moment it is the dry season, characterised by strong Northerly winds that bring sand dust from Sahara. This means
DSCF0036DSCF0036DSCF0036

I went to a church. The service was four hours of singing and dancing. And the priest offered everyone lollipops. Great stuff.
that the sky does not really ever appear to be clear, and everything is sort of covered in red sand. However, the winds are calming down, meaning that the temperatures will start rising and the sun will become more intense during the coming weeks. I think the temperatures vary between 30 and 35 degrees.

I’ve been to downtown Accra a couple of times, and it is difficult to find nice things to say about the city. Even though the city is located by the ocean, it is impossible to get a sea view from anywhere in the town. The buildings are falling apart and the sand dust colours everything light brown. Another thing is a striking smell of shit that sometimes rises from the sewers.

Anyway, I want to finish on a positive note saying that I really like the atmosphere here. There is something strangely relaxing in all the chaos of this place.



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

DSCF0048DSCF0048
DSCF0048

One of the main roads in Darkuman.


Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0364s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb