Advent Calendars Commence!


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Greater Accra » Accra
December 1st 2008
Published: December 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello all in the great white north!!! Happy December 1st. The countdown is officially on until Christmas!!! This morning I was walking down my street to catch my tro-tro to work and as I came to the corner I was watching all of the cute kids getting dropped off at primary school in their adorable checkered uniforms, with their packed lunches and tiny backpacks. Then as I approached the corner (where the school is), I heard this tune...."Frosty the Snow Man." It was a bizarre moment as it was 7:30 AM and I was already dripping in sweat...it brought me back to the reality of what time of year it really is...I hope everyone manages to have a stress-free December (nearly impossible I am sure). I wish you all a month full of indulging in great food, delicious sweets, and fabulous company!



Advertisement



1st December 2008

Happy December 1st!
Hi Jody: the boys opeend the first doors on their advent calendars this morning: crazy season has begun. Jakob got ready for school this morning without a tiny hint of prodding from Scott and I (thinking that since it is now December he better start putting on a good show for Santa asap). One time when I was in Hanoi (also equally hot and summerish) someone's cell phone went off to the tune of jingle bells..you will always remember these surreal moments! Do you have plans for Christmas (on a beach?) and do you know what your return date will be? Have a wonderful day: it is dark and dreary and slushy in Halifax....and my 3315 students are writing their final exam. I KNOW you don't wish you were here!
3rd December 2008

:) I was going to spend Christmas day on the beach, but I will be coming back from the Northern part of Ghana, so I doubt I will be able to get there by then (plus many of the hotels are booked). Kelly (another CIDA intern) and I are planning on spending Christmas at a guesthouse that also cares for young adults and children with special needs before we hit the coast (perhaps New Years Eve/Day will be spent on the coast or on the Volta!!!) My return flight to Seattle is February 9th...but I have a feeling that I will be changing my departure date!

Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0378s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb