The Much Anticipated Photo Entry!


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Greater Accra » Accra
October 22nd 2007
Published: October 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Flying over the Sahara...Flying over the Sahara...Flying over the Sahara...

Breathtaking! And it lasted for hours!
Hello All!

Finally, I have begun to take some pictures and now that I am back at work, I have a reliable internet connection that I can post them! I will post an entry tomorrow or the next day about my trip to North and all of the wonderful scenery I got to see and guinea fowl that I got to eat 😊. As for now, enjoy the pictures of my plane ride, Thanksgiving in Ghana, my house, and my office.

Thank you all for your lovely messages that you have posted to the blog! I always enjoy reading people's comments and knowing that those of you back home are enjoying the blog and thinking of me 😊

Lots of love,
Courtney


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Thanksgiving!Thanksgiving!
Thanksgiving!

Enjoyed a pasta dinner with rice pudding for desert at the guest house -- The gang included Canadian volunteers Renee (left), Danielle and her son Odera (Right), Renee's financee Kwasi and the photo taker, Emmanuel, one of the Ghanaian volunteers.
The Guest HouseThe Guest House
The Guest House

This is Mangoes, the Guest House we stayed at in our first week in Accra. It was in Haatso, the neighbourhood where the WUSC office was so that we were close by for our orientation.
Downtown AccraDowntown Accra
Downtown Accra

As of now, I have only ventured into the true Accra once -- the first weekend I was here with the other volunteers. And man! It was ten times crazier then the suburbs we had been in and it was only a Sunday (the quietest day of the week). I have yet to summon the courage to venture down by myself... maybe this weekend! This was taken from our perch at a "spot" on the balcony enjoying a beer and taking in the sites.
My houseMy house
My house

Here it is in all it's glory... my little spot in Ashalley Botwe -- a suburb in the North East of the city. I share a compound with another family, the Lawson-Body's, whose front door directly faces mine.
The Living RoomThe Living Room
The Living Room

Note the TV and DVD player -- I have already re-watched all three seasons of The Office since being here! Yes, I know I need a life.
My BedroomMy Bedroom
My Bedroom

Well, one part of it -- that would be my "princess bed" complete with my slightly dilapidated mosquito net! The room is actually huge and I have yet to fill it with more furniture such as a desk, shelves, etc.
The Lawson-Body ChildrenThe Lawson-Body Children
The Lawson-Body Children

From left to right: Papalut (1 1/2), Priscilla (8), Manuella (6), and their freind Mariam. The girls kept me company this week as we drew pictures, watched movies, and went for walks. I have also won Papa over as he smiles at me and lets me pick him up :)
My desk at GNECCMy desk at GNECC
My desk at GNECC

Well, actually it's Geoff's desk, but I share it with him. See the cleared spot on the left of the first desk? That's where I am sitting right now, typing away on my laptop :)


26th October 2007

sweeeet
awesome pictures! the one from the plane is especially cool. love the commentary (slightly dilapidated net...) and what! renee's fiancee? wasn't she saying it was just a "someone" back in montreal?! nuts. anyhow, it sounds like you're having a grand time and (not) working hard at work...!

Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0274s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb