Visitors From The "North"


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Greater Accra » Accra
July 10th 2007
Published: July 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Written from the capitol city, Accra:

Two weeks ago six of the senior students spent the weekend with Kirk and I preparing for the arrival of two more visitors.

Joel and Cori Lyons arrived from North Dakota June 27th. Having a VARIETY of village life experiences Joel and Cori have now come and gone. Leaving their "footprints" on our lives AND SURELY taking back with them life changing marks on their own lives. During their visit they experienced the finest of West African Cuisine. Joel (to name a few) had experiences in preaching and evangelism in various village settings as well as coaching volleyball and juggling. Cori (a kindergarden teacher by profession) spent much of her time teaching both fun and educational songs to the younger primary school students. In the sports department she oversaw frisbee throwing. Kirk bravely tackled the yoyo's as well as one of his favorite outdoor games, horse shoes. I only wish I had been present to witness him demonstrating Jump Rope Techniques!!

Some of Joels thoughts regarding the trip:
"'One thing that really impressed me with the Ghanaian people is how respectful and hospitable they are.' ... 'The children are also very respectful. They always insist on carrying whatever we have in our hands.' ... 'Cori had been praying that she would never have to go to Africa.' ... 'The first night we spent in Accra was like a luxury.' ... 'When we arrived at the village of Fenaso we were immersed into the Ghanaian village life. We lived in mud houses, ate some native foods, showered outside using a bucket of rainwater and learned new ways of going to the bathroom!'"

I'm trying to figure out just how to add Joels comments as an additional link to this blog. If you are intrested in reading his comments in full and can't find a link here, please shoot off a quick email to our regular email address requesting a copy. I'll get them to you as soon as I can.

With them, Joel and Cori brought several gifts for us personally as well as the Ghanaians. Some had been donated by major chain stores, others by family, friends and churches. Among the items was a volleyball/bad mitten set. Now, I am good at keeping secrets but this one was very difficult to keep. Oh how I wanted to tell the students what was on the way! I receintly heard that volleyball has been added to the public school systems sports program. God is so good! He’s keeping us right up there with the “big dogs!”

My biggest disappointment about their trip is that I have not even ONE photo of their time with us. My digital camera decided to go on the blink leaving me without!

I'd like to say a BIG BIG "Thank You" to each and every one who contributed in anyway to their trip. It is difficult to express accurately the lasting impact that your efforts and Joel & Cori's visit will have on the lives of these rural Ghanaians. As I've said in the past, the words "Thank You" seem so weak to me. Be assured that they carry a heavy weight with them and deep sincerity.

Until Next Time
God Bless
Christine & Co



















Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 5; qc: 37; dbt: 0.0427s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb