I'm Ghana Have a Great Time


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Greater Accra » Accra » Korle Bu
June 12th 2011
Published: June 19th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Arrived in Accra at 1am. Security took about an hour to get through. Then I went to arrivals and met the guy who was taking me to the school, a fella called Christian. He didnt speak great English, and was with 3 other people. We got in a car and headed off. Five minutes after we left the airport a bus in front of us went off the road and crashed into a barrier. It was going about 60mph at the time and the driver had almost gone through the windscreen, completely shattering it. Christian looked at me and said "Your first fatality in Ghana!" and started laughing. Brilliant.

Then 10 minutes later we drive into a really busy market. It was like something from District 9. Big fires here and there, people banging on the window of the car, trying to sell us all sorts of weird stuff from baskets on their heads. A woman was going round trying to sell single pieces of bread ffs. Then Christian parks up, and turns the engine off. I asked him what we were doing and he just said "wait". Erm, ok. So he gets out, and opens the boot, and starts taking my bags out and giving them to some random guy! Excuse me Christian, can you please not give all my possessions away, I think I may need my passport, credit cards, laptop and clothes later. But my car door was locked so I couldn't get out and see what was happening.

A death and all my things stolen within the first 30 minutes. This was probably top ten of the things I didn't want to happen. Maybe even top five. I wound down my window and opened my door from the outside and got out. They were moving all my stuff to a bus about 100metres down the road. I went down and got my hand luggage so at least I had my wallet/laptop/camera/passport etc. After a few minutes I worked out that we must be going the rest of the way to the village in this bus. Thanks for the info Chris!
After a 4 hour drive down some pretty dodgy roads, we arrived at another village and transferred into a taxi. An hour later, at 6am, after leaving Toronto over 50 hours earlier, I had arrived.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 15; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0473s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb