I'm not dead honest...


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Eastern » Mpraeso
June 4th 2011
Published: June 4th 2011
Edit Blog Post

So, I can't believe how long it has taken me to find a computer that this blog website actually works with. I'm here now so here is an update.

The last time I blogged was about 3 weeks ago and it has flown by. I'm now over half way through my 2 months here and its crazy to think I will be home in 4 weeks. I have stayed at the school I was at at the start of my time here and its been fantastic to see progress, albeit small. By no means have we transformed the school, but there are hints from the kids that we have made a positive impact. Doing tests in the morning for example on what we covered the day before, and seeing most of them getting it right is a really good feeling. It has taken 4 weeks to get to this point though, and I guess that is the most frustrating part. Having said this the kids are as happy as they always are. I find myself becoming a human climbing frame most of the time with kids dangling off me from head to toe. They also find our white skin fascinating. They will poke and prod as they love it when it changes colour. Crazy to think this will entertain them for hours but it really does!

So as well as the teaching we have traveled at weekends. We firstly visited Kakum national park in the south of Ghana, which was amazing. We camped on a platform they built up a 30 metre tree. It was a surreal experience going to bed and then waking up at 4 in the morning to walk through the rain forest. We then went on a canopy walk which is a bit like the walkways on I'm a celebrity only massively higher! The worst part being when you see they are just a load of household ladders welded together it is a tad unnerving. The other strange thing was paying an 'inconvenience charge' for the man opening the canopy walk earlier. Its very apparent Ghanaians do not grasp customer service! After this we headed to Cape Coast. We visited the Slave castle there which was really interesting and very disturbing. Being taught about the sla

Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0303s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb