16th -Im walking in the Air


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Central » Cape Coast
March 16th 2006
Published: April 4th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Today was the big day I was going to do something touristy! I didn't get up
very early after getting into 'The Da Vinci Code' which I hadn't read before.
After a quick lunch of egg sandwiches on the roof I jumped into a taxi for
the 40km ride to Kakum National Park. I got there for pretty much the last
walk of the day, flashed my student card for my discount and hung around the
museum waiting for my guide. We had a good chat about our lives while walking
up to the canopy walkway a couple of Canadians had built 11 years ago. It was
just us two which was great because if I was going to see any wildlife it
would be now since I knew when to shut the hell up was trying to walk
quietly. Didn't make any difference really, the jungle was pretty dense. You
could occasionally hear animals moving around but you couldn't really see
them. The most interesting thing on the way up to the walkway was one of
those ferns that bunch its leaves up when you touch it. Yawn.
The Canopy walkway was hardly the terrifying nightmare Anna and Tua had
described it, but then Im not really afraid of highs and it looked solid and
pretty new. If it had looked like a deathtrap I might have changed my mind.
You really need binoculars t see anything up there, there were a few
butterflies knocking around but not monkeys ad virtually no birds. Apparently
there was one but was taking a picture in the other direction and missed it
Doh. All in all a great trip :p Still, it was nice to get up in the tree tops
and see over the jungle. I got a few nice photos, I hope. I'd hardly taken it
out with me because its not much fun to have no subject to take photos of. I
was constantly seeing great things when walking around but it feels so
intrusive to whip your camera out and point it in someone's face.
The waitress at my hotel had foolishly told me that she would send people to
'Oasis' if they had stopped serving food so I took her advice (and my custom)
and went down there to eat dinner. At least there were more people than
usual, but they were mostly speaking German so that was me out of the
conversation. Was a nice place by the beach though and they had a good menu
so I was happy. Having tourists mean that they actually had some food in that
I wanted to eat, as opposed to choosing from a small selection of what they
could be bothered to cook. I was told many times that there was no bananas,
pineapples or oranges. Its Africa for cripes sake, go onto the street, buy
some and sell them to me for a massive profit!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0509s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb