Some photos


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Central » Cape Coast
February 14th 2008
Published: February 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Guess what..today's weather was hot and humid again! I think my new haircut was a wise choice and I don't think it looks too bad even when I'm dripping with sweat - which is most the time. Also as grey-haired people are afforded significant respect I think I'll now let it fade naturally as well.Over the past few days we have begun learning local languages, so Dave and I are being challenged by Fante...but we do know how to greet people and say "let's eat" - so all useful stuff. We also had to go out in small groups to buy a list of this at the best price from the area local to the hotel. Ours included a mosquito coil, one person having a braid put in their hair, a Kose ( a deep-fried soya bean doughnut thing) and a CONDOM!! ..and we had to bring back change from GHC2 ( ghana Cedis - approx £1)..it was good fun and it required us to befriend local people so they would help us, which they did, with great courtesy, if not amusement. We celebrated our new-found assimilation skills in a "spot" (see photo) with several beers which pleased us all, especially
hard work eh!hard work eh!hard work eh!

Lucy and Margritte working VERY hard on their language training!
Dave, immensely.

Today has been quite leisurely and some folk found time for a dip in the pool, whilst others ie Dave and I wandered down the spot again where all the women were given an artificial rose as Valentine's Day is quite big here in Ghana. Davw-e wants to pretend that he bought it for me!!! I know nobody at home would believe him!




Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



14th February 2008

Photos
Great to see photos and hear from you.

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0474s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb