Cool stuff happens all the time


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Central » Cape Coast
May 3rd 2007
Published: May 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

The critter.The critter.The critter.

The fellows in the trotro were really thrilled to show us this little guy.
There's a little hotel north of here called Han's Cottage where they have lots of crocodiles and birds. We spent a lazy afternoon there and got some pictures pretty close to the wild crocodiles (the waiter kept trying to tell me that they don't bite- yeah, right!). So we took some pictures and caught a trotro with some friends who'd gone to a zoo further north on their way back to Cape Coast.
In the trotro we were sharing pictures of monkeys and crocodiles and showing the Ghanians we were riding with as well. I guess they reasoned that we must be into exotic animals, because they pulled a plastic bag out from under the seat and pulled a critter out of the plastic bag.
At first we thought it was a snake or a lizard because of the scales. Lyndsey was scared of it and I was climbing into Anna's lap for a picture of it. It was curled up into a tight defensive ball and I got to pet it a little. The Ghanians were delighted and totally incapable of telling us what it was. We decided it must be a mammal and a lady in the trotro told us that if you take the scales off and cook it, you can eat it! If they told us the name, we didn't catch it, and we got off the trotro debating weather or not it was actually a mammal.
I got a really good picture of it, once I have the chance I'll post it and you can all take a guess at what it is!

Edit- I described the critter to my dad. My dad described it to my little brother Robin. Robin went and fetched a magazine with an article and picture of it. It's a pangolin. A nocturnal inscectivor prevelant in West Africa. Thanks, Robin.

Advertisement



9th May 2007

Crocs
I sure enjoyed our meal there in April. Eager to see your pictures soon. Say Hi to Anna! Kathy
16th May 2007

mystery animal
was it a scaled ant eater? or an armadillo?
23rd May 2007

last days
I love the picture with the braids!!! Enjoy your last days in Ghana. No worries!
24th May 2007

close! our frist thought was "Snake? Hairy snake? uh.... Is it alive? It is an animal, right?"

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0439s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb