What I've been waiting for


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Brong Ahafo » Sunyani
June 27th 2008
Published: June 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Greetings from Sunyani, capital of the Brong Ahafo region of Ghana, right near the border with Ivory Coast. So the internet may be down and out, but I am in high, high spirits. We just finished our first of two weeks of data collection, and it feels great to be getting out of the offices and theoretical realm of papers, and actually talking with people--and playing with their kids.

After the first three weeks in Ghana's two largest cities, I had a very incomplete perspective on this country, but that has changed this week. Every day me and six Ghanaian researchers (four students, two employees of the organization), meet up with a man they call "The General," who takes us in a taxi down a red clay road to some crossroads city, small town or other farflung community. We then meetup with groups of borrowers from the microfinance organization in that community, hold focus groups and do individual interviews, grab some lunch if a restaurant exists, and speed of in another beat-up old taxi to the next village.

Of course, all the interviews are done in Twi, the most common language in Ghana, and not one I speak. So my role while in the communities consists of: Get the sodas and biscuits to serve people after they complete interviews; Hold the digital recorder during the focus groups, while nodding like I know what's being said; bug the students when they say they don't want to do another interview and we are not at the daily quota yet; and of course entertain the local kids by being tall and white, which is about as common as snow in these places.

Today I was joined by Flanny, one of my best friends from home. He's been living in Ivory Coast for the past year, and so hopped the border yesterday to hang out for the weekend. This meant both research teams had their own Obruni to hold the recorder, letting two students begin individual interviews early, making us pretty damn efficient for a Friday. It is great to have someone from normal life here as it bridges the disconnect. Plus, we are going to a monkey sanctuary tomorrow, so you can't beat that.

Anyways, I have a lot more stories from the week, but this internet is painfully slow, so I gotta hurry before my hour runs out. All the best and thanks for all the comments, I read and enjoy every single one, even if it takes a week to find internet up here.

Advertisement



27th June 2008

you and flanny monkeys and kids!
wow, i am glad that you are there to hold the mic and get the biscuits. and that you can use your "baby magic" to charm the local kidlets. Yes, nothing like being out and about doing "work" to make your spirits soar. You and Flanny also happen to be SUPER tall Obruni which i am sure makes you very exciting. Much much love to you and Flan.
28th June 2008

So what mischief are you and flanny cooking up? A three on three tour of the villages, picking up a villager (quick point guard) to round it out, taking on all commers for a six pack of the local brew?Your blog is great! I wish I were there to drink in some of the local scene. I hope you are taking some photos. I bet flanny is. Everything is great here. Real summer weather. I just cut milton's grass and am sweating like a mazer in a church pew. Aidan will be taking your and flanny's spot on the crew putting in about an hour a day.....productivity should be up. I'll call soon when I find out what kind of coin my last phone call costs...but with all my savings from etrade I should be able to talk to you or at least rent a clown. dad
28th June 2008

So what mischief are you and flanny cooking up? A three on three tour of the villages, picking up a villager (quick point guard) to round it out, taking on all commers for a six pack of the local brew?Your blog is great! I wish I were there to drink in some of the local scene. I hope you are taking some photos. I bet flanny is. Everything is great here. Real summer weather. I just cut milton's grass and am sweating like a mazer in a church pew. Aidan will be taking your and flanny's spot on the crew putting in about an hour a day.....productivity should be up. I'll call soon when I find out what kind of coin my last phone call costs...but with all my savings from etrade I should be able to talk to you or at least rent a clown. dad
29th June 2008

Fire up the Google Earth
You are giving my Google Earth a run for its money, Rafe. So much fun to fire it up and zero in on the Ghanan interior. Can't wait to hear about the monkey preserve. "Flanny and Rafe went to a monkey preserve ..." sounds like the opening line to a bad joke. Keep those posts comin' when you can. Leslie

Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0263s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb