The Heart of the Forest


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Ashanti
July 27th 2010
Published: July 27th 2010
Edit Blog Post

The Heart of the ForestThe Heart of the ForestThe Heart of the Forest

Leaves of this plant grow in a heart shape.
Saturday was an event I had been waiting for. A walk in the “Rainforest” took place. The only word for this is WOW! Talk about variety we saw giant trees, cool plants and even little biting red ants - Ouch! This is one of the best times to have a camera. I also saw how charcoal is made.

Yesterday was “The Excursion” (school field trip). There was a loud applause when this word was spoken! At 8:00am, 30 people squeezed into a “Lorry” bus about the size of an American suburban type van. Again, these talented children sang most of the way. The zoo was very fun for them and they brought paper and pencils to write down the names of every thing they saw. Near the end of the tour they got to see quite a sight. Not knowing “Jimmy”, a mean-spirited large chimpanzee, I stood watching him jumping on his swing and really running around. I had my camera ready when I was suddenly doused in a shower of wetness from head to foot! Not knowing what just happened the guide informed me that I had been spit on with a large mouthful of water that he plans.
Framed!Framed!Framed!

Robert, Lisa and Praise - Framed by the forest
I then kept a respectable distance and decided I did not want to take his picture.

We finished off the day with a nice tour of the Cultural Center in the city of Kumasi. After a round of hugs from all the students, two of them prayed for me bringing tears to my eyes. I left with Christine - behind the bus - really in awe.

Sadly my last week in the village has come to an end. These children all possess the element called “inner happiness” that some people spend their whole life trying to find. I was able to pass out some very (by American standards) small and trivial items that meant SO much to them. Their faces and responses were that of true appreciation. I did laugh at some of their facial expressions after their first taste of red licorice. Some really did not like it. I totally understood because some of their daily food (Bonku) brought the same expression to my face.

The village is a place I will never forget and a place I will never see in America. This has been one of the coolest experiences in my life. Africa has
The End The End The End

The end of the day. The end of my stay. Child of Excellence Primary School outing.
a beauty and realness you rarely find. The hardest part for me was the heat during their “winter”. If you are adventure bound and wanting to see another world- another way of life - things you’ve never seen before - this is where you will find it. I feel like a longing I have had for many years was fulfilled and the only reason I am looking forward to going home is that I am homesick. I miss my family but I will certainly miss the children in this village.

Lisa


Advertisement



27th July 2010

What a touching story - made me tear up just to read how dear these children are. I hope they can keep the sense of wonder and openness.
27th July 2010

Hey Lisa hope you realise you will never be the same again! :)...not after those STUNNING kids....thanks for your awesome updates on Apebouso! really kool that you ended your stay with an exursion! be blessed in your travelling home!

Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0348s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb