My Sankofa


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Ashanti
November 27th 2007
Published: November 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

AkwabaaAkwabaaAkwabaa

Welcome Drummers at airport

Between 1965 and 1976 I lived in Ghana West Africa, after being adopted by an Ashanti-Paramount Chief, Nana Kwaku Duah and given the name "Kojo Achampong." I immersed myself in the culture, while learning the traditional art of cowhorn and ivory carving (creating jewelry replicas of African designs.) which enabled me to not only support myself, but to employ others as well.
On my return to America in 1976, I applied my carving skill to jewelry model making (wax craving) and lost wax-casting.
I am also author of My Sankofa. ( 3th printing) which documents my life in Ghana.

On the invitation of my adoptive clan leader, Nana Oteng I returned to Ghana for it’s 50th Anniversary celebration during the month of March 2007.

During my 30 days there (March 4 to April 4 2007) I visited several primary and preparatory schools in the Agogo area. The following are a few photos of the schools I visited.

To sum up my return to Ghana, after a 31 years absence, I found the people even more receptive and hospitable. Their accommodation, from 5 star hotels, guest houses, to ordinary bed and breakfasts are comparable to any found in
AgogoheneAgogoheneAgogohene

Relaxing and entertaining guests.
the united states. Fortunately for me, being the guest of old friends, my accommodation was prearranged... Their home is, my home. This is an experience most African-American will have after connecting and establishing a relationship with a Ghanaian family. As the saying goes ”blood is thicker then water.”


Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Nana OtengNana Oteng
Nana Oteng

Thats me wearing white T-shirt.
Home in AccraHome in Accra
Home in Accra

Nana Oteng wearing blue shirt.
Home StaffHome Staff
Home Staff

Sister Yao (white T-shirt) the boss lady.
An Old FriendAn Old Friend
An Old Friend

,, I wonder what would've happen if??? Oh well.
The Water PipeThe Water Pipe
The Water Pipe

Water is always a problem when public pump break down.


Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.05s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb