Ghanaian Futbol Excitement!


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Ashanti » Kumasi
January 29th 2010
Published: January 29th 2010
Edit Blog Post

GH vs. MaliGH vs. MaliGH vs. Mali

Cali girl gone Ghanaian
In the spirit of Ghana securing a place in the African Cup of Nations final this week, I am going to be sharing my Ghanaian football experiences with you! If you're like me, and didn't know what the African Cup of Nations even is...you can follow Ghana's national team, the "Black Stars" at http://www.ghanafa.org/

Ok, anyone who knows me, knows I am not so into sports. Unless there is beer involved (it's not that i even like beer that much, I guess I just get bored!) But when in Rome.... Or better yet: when in Africa, WATCH FOOTBALL. And by football, I mean "futbol" which means "soccer," of course. I've been to two games since I've been here: the first in Accra; the second, in Kumasi.

The first was a qualifying match for the world cup next year, so it was decidedly more exciting...plus, it was my first game, ever. We snuck down to better seats than we originally had, because that's kind of what you do here. So, for 5 cedi, which is like 3 dollars, we were able to sit right behind the goal and watch firsthand how Ghana kicked the Sudan's hiney! The crowd and basically
Ghana vs. MaliGhana vs. MaliGhana vs. Mali

THE crew: Me, Jasmin, Maga
the entire community was absolutely out of control after GH won...which means people running around with Ghanaian flags, any and everywhere. The guy sitting next to us was really a big help in my team spirit development and he even bought me my very own Ghanaian flag! After the game, we just roamed the streets, wearing our flags as capes and jumping around! This kind of excitement is pretty contagious!

In Kumasi, we didn't have that great of seats, but we made do and had a blast, regardless. Though there wasn't much riding on this match against Mali, the crowd was heated as always and we got to witness a fight in the row directly behind me! Now, if there's one thing I dislike more than sports, it would be fighting...but it was still interesting to see how and why people get soooo heated over a game. We all thought someone had broken a glass bottle when the one guy slapped the other...it was that loud... ! This was one of those instances that really reminds you that you're in Africa. I mean I understand crazy fans get in fights all over the world, but I don't think that
Ghana vs. MaliGhana vs. MaliGhana vs. Mali

We were soooo exctited! You're supposed to wave the flag everytime GH scores .... or something like that lol
dozens of uniformed policemen come out of nowhere to break it up like they do here. It was weird but comforting to see such a quick response to the fight, though I was left wondering both where did all those policemen come from, and why do Ghanaian policemen have military (combat-ish) style uniforms?! They're like ninjas, those guys...but I definitely felt better after they handled the situation.

Anyway, enjoy the pictures😊 and don't laugh at my "team spirit" too much (you know who you are).
Love,
RR


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Ghana vs. MaliGhana vs. Mali
Ghana vs. Mali

Check out our sweet hats. Representin' GH for life!
Ghana vs. MaliGhana vs. Mali
Ghana vs. Mali

This guy was the definition of "die hard" just like his chest says!
Ghana vs. SudanGhana vs. Sudan
Ghana vs. Sudan

My first game ever! I'm so Ghanaian, I'm drinking GH beer! (Though that is a pre-requisite to me attending any game lol)
Ghana vs. SudanGhana vs. Sudan
Ghana vs. Sudan

The newest thing: Flag dresses, Duh!
Ghana vs. SudanGhana vs. Sudan
Ghana vs. Sudan

The crew: Samantha, Jessica, Jasmin, and me at the stadium in Accra
Moses and MeMoses and Me
Moses and Me

Getting ready to go out, in our hostel in Kumasi
KumasiKumasi
Kumasi

Moses and me being gangsters, per usual
Thank goodness for guinessThank goodness for guiness
Thank goodness for guiness

A semi-neccessary component of the getting Robin to watch football equation
GH vs. MaliGH vs. Mali
GH vs. Mali

Futbol Fans are Fanatic in these parts! I guees enough to make this guy don this emmm... stylish... 'do, even in like 100 degree weather!
GH vs. MaliGH vs. Mali
GH vs. Mali

Another fanatic: These guys spend their hole time at the game walking laps around the "pitch" or whatever it's called, and there were even young boys dressed like this....football fans from the start!
GH vs. MaliGH vs. Mali
GH vs. Mali

My neighbor! He was almost as excited to sit next to us as he was to be at the game :)
GH vs. MaliGH vs. Mali
GH vs. Mali

It was a full house by the time things picked up...
GH vs. MaliGH vs. Mali
GH vs. Mali

Pretty good seats :)


Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0535s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb