Ghana so far


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Ashanti » Kumasi
January 22nd 2008
Published: January 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post


Things are never quite how you imagined they would be. I came for a story but I found reality instead. I came for a story but I found 17 years of unmedicated pain. My first day in Ghana I went to the Buduburam refugee camp outside of Kasoa... about 3 hours from the capital Accra. What I found there left me shocked, what I found there I cannot keep to myself, I feel that I must tell the world. I have seen things that only happen in the movies, Ive heard stories coming from a man looking through me with imploring eyes, looking to me to give him a voice and desperatly hoping that I am not like all the others who have come and made broken promises.

Right now I am not there, I am in Kumasi. I am working with kids at an orphanage here and will be working with the many beggers here in this large town. I will be here for a month then I will be moving into the refugee camp. I am not nieve about the challenges ahead of me. This is why I am taking a month to prepare... because I must make a difference. I cannot go into the camp, listen to their stories then do nothing. If that is the case then I am just a sick voyeur. I have seen the way that they have looked at me and I have seen the transparent honesty. I must do the best I can to help them, I must give a voice to the voiceless. These people deserve more than what the world has given them. These are not drug addicts or drop outs, they are hard working people with families and without a home to return home to. I will explain more about the exact situation later.

I am trying to bridge the gulf that is spreading between these people and the rest of the world, and this is no easy task. I must take the truth and communicate it in a way that captures peoples attention. I want to make it hard not to care. I know that if everyone could go there then they would see the truth and would give anything to help. But everyone cannot go there, this is why photographers must go there. To capture the truth and present it in a way that is easily understandable, present it in a way that speaks volumes. I have to believe that photography can do something, I have to believe in the hearts of Christians back home. Because without people back home, my work here ammounts to nothing.

If anyone has any advice I would love to hear it, and we are still planning the trip so it would be great. We are going to be doing a lot of practical stuff. We are going to deliever medical and hygenic supplies, I am going to be teaching tennis to the kids here, they have a refugee tennis academy as they call it. I will be spending day and night with these people and will be trying to take photos that really captures their exact situation. I am writing for a couple of magazines but I have not decided if I will be writing one big article or a series of articles... I just know that this is a story that needs to be told, and these people deserve it...

Advertisement



24th January 2008

Hello Tyler! Its good to see a young man working for Jesus. I seems that these people and there situation has gotten your attention! Its a good thing to make it known where Jesus' Love is needed and I hope that you continue to make a difference. One things for sure, you are already making a difference by growing into a great example for us and others here at home. Keep up the good, passionate work.
30th January 2008

I appreciate it Vernon. Its hard here, Its hard to see reality in the world. I am nothing brother, I just know what I must do. I think it would be impossible for me to meet with these people and do nothing to help them, that goes against everything that i believe. I will be going back to the camp friday to meet with the camp manager and see what are some more of their needs. We are going to bring hygenic/medical supplies and we will be teaching some basic hygene classes to the people. I appreciate your prayers and thank you for your support!!!

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0492s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb