The one where I wait


Advertisement
Gambia's flag
Africa » Gambia » Western Division » Serrekunda
January 11th 2008
Published: January 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Life is funny sometimes. Jacked-up, but funny. I have been preparing for my move to The Gambia for several months now. The night before I was supposed to be in they sky, my friend who I was traveling with got real sick. Many phone calls, and a stupid re-booking fee later, our flight was postponed for a week. I've been walking around the house the past couple of days looking like a bag lady who should be pushing shopping bags in a grocery cart and barking.

However, this next week I have before I leave gave me more time to do things I should have really done before I left. Like go to the dentist for the first time in 4 years. I had a tooth ache for a while, and never got it checked out. I figured if worse came to worse, I could get a random African with some plyers to pull it out. But the dentist was gracious enough to see me at the last minute. Again, looking like a bag lady, I walked in with no bra, my pajama pants, and un-brushed teeth with smoke breath. It was a beautiful disgrace.

I also have more time to see friends before I leave, moisturize, eat cheese, and watch wicked awesome movies such as Bill and Ted's Excellent Adventure. I'm psyched. Also, I may decide to re-pack my bags for the twentieth time, to try and elimiate the "bag o shit" syndrome. Everyone has a bag that when unpacked, is full of randomness that you have no idea how it got there. And that bag makes you question your own sanity.

So essentially, this week, although not in Africa, starts my trip. Sit back, relax, and enjoy the ride.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.155s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1144s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb